Peach Frozen Yogurt

2 Sep

If someone gave me a container of Edy’s Slow Churned Peach Frozen Yogurt it wouldn’t be out of the realm of possibility for me to consume the entire container. In one sitting. This is how much I love it. So I was tickled peach ::insert rim shot here:: when I saw a recipe for Peach Frozen Yogurt in The Perfect Scoop. If you have an ice cream maker but don’t have this book, GET IT RIGHT NOW. It’s OK, I’ll wait right here.

All set? Awesome.

I pretty much kept to the recipe but substituted Greek Yogurt for regular yogurt. It definitely gave the yogurt a more tart flavor, so next time I’ll try the regular yogurt and see how it turns out. It was still delicious, flavorful and creamy. Perfect for consuming especially during a heat wave.

Peach Frozen Yogurt

From the Perfect Scoop

  • 1.5lbs ripe peaches
  • .5 cup water
  • .75 cup plain whole milk yogurt (I used Greek yogurt)
  • freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 3/4 cup of sugar

Peel peaches, slice them in half, and remove the pits. Cut the peaches into chunks and cook them with the water in a medium saucepan over medium heat, covered, stirring occasionally, until soft and cooked through, about 10 minutes. Remove from heat, stir in the sugar, then chill in the refridgerator.

When the peach mixture is cool, puree in a food processor with the yogurt until almost smooth but slightly chunky. Mix in a few drops of lemon juice.

Freeze in ice cream maker according to manufacture’s instruction. Eat immediately or chill for a few hours if you want it to be harder.

Enjoy! Mr. Kitchen Misfit and I are heading out to Portland, ME for Labor Day weekend and I’m hoping to take LOTS of pictures and share them with you when I get back. Hopefully Hurricane Earl won’t spoil our plans! Have a great weekend!

7 Responses to “Peach Frozen Yogurt”

  1. Shaina September 2, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Go to Duckfat. Order the fries.
    Caiola’s is also amazing if you can get a reservation.

    Maybe you already know these things, but if you don’t know them, they are very good to know.

    • kitchenmisfit September 2, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

      We are most definitely going to Duckfat! I haven’t heard of Caiola’s but I will definitely look into it!

  2. Paula September 3, 2010 at 5:32 am #

    yummy! peach and ice cream… love it

  3. Brilynn September 3, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    The Perfect Scoop is an awesome book! I’m a fan of greek yogurt so I might try it your way when I make this!

  4. Jenny September 8, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    Hi! I ran across your blog on tastespotting, looking for something to do with the 3 lbs of peaches I got in my CSA this week, and this looks perfect. How much sugar does the recipe call for? (it looks like it was accidentally left off the recipe you posted)

    Anyway, thank you for the inspiration, and if you love David Lebovitz, I would highly recommend his recipe for no-recipe cherry jam on his website. It’s perfect and delicious!

    • kitchenmisfit September 8, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

      Whoops! Thanks for pointing that out to me! It’s 3/4 of a cup but if you like it to be extra sweeter I would add a full cup. The Greek yogurt is really tart so I think next time I will add more sugar to balance it out! And I will definitely check out that recipe!

      • Jenny September 8, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

        Awesome, thank you!

Leave a comment