Portland: A Recap

10 Sep

This past Labor Day Weekend, Mr. Kitchen Misfit and I visited Portland, ME. I love Maine, and I like to find any excuse to visit Maine as much as possible.

We stayed at the Chadwick Inn, a charming and overall delightful Bed & Breakfast just a short drive from downtown Portland.

I loved everything about this B&B. The house itself was wonderfully decorated. I hate it when B&B’s look outdated and is decorated circa 1970. Not so with the Chadwick. The dining room was adorable, and there was a nice display of coffee, tea, juice, water and snacks that were available all day.

We stayed in the Baxter Room which was the smallest room of the 4 but was by far my favorite (We took a peek at the other rooms). It was set off in its own corridor, and there was a huge bathroom across the way. But my favorite part of the whole room? The AWESOME balcony!

We wanted this weekend to be very laid back and when we came back to the B&B to relax you can see by the presence of my Nook that I definitely made use of the balcony.

The food was absolutely wonderful. We were served 2 courses and you could tell the food was fresh and it tasted delicious. Our first day we started off with some granola and yogurt drizzles with honey followed by crepes with strawberries, blueberries, banana and caramel sauce, and nutella.

Excuse the horrendous photos. They were taken with my phone.

The second day we had blueberries with brown sugar and warmed milk. I never thought to have a combination such as that. But it was fabulous. We then had eggs benedict with a faux hollandaise sauce made with orange and did not contain any egg yolks. This was served with peppered home fries. They were some of the best eggs benedict I’ve ever had. I’m not a huge fan of hollandaise, but this sauce was amazing.

I highly recommend the Chadwick Inn if you are staying in Portland. It’s really everything you could ever want in a B&B and so much more!!

Anyway, our first stop in Portland was lunch at the Flatbread Company. They have a couple of locations in New England and even have one location in Hawaii and one in British Columbia! They specialize in wood fired pizza and have a HUGE oven for all to see.

You can just see the pizza cooking!

Mr. Kitchen Misfit and I managed to snag a table on the patio which overlooks Casco Bay. We ordered a combination pizza, one half was sausage and the other half was a veggie special they had going on that day.

Beer and Pizza, what's NOT to love?

It was spectacular. The sausage was very mild and the caramelized onions and mushrooms complimented the smoky crust. I was really impressed by the veggie side as well, with crunchy green beans and beets with a balsamic reduction, I was thinking about how I could have consumed a whole pizza by myself! It’s a good thing I didn’t, because my tummy was really feeling it afterwards! We washed it down with some tasty local craft brews, and all felt right in the world.

After our first (and most certainly NOT our last) delicious meal in Portland we headed down the street to LeRoux Kitchen, which is a kitchen specialty store that also had an amazing selection of olive oils and balsamic vinegars. I tried a wonderful dark cherry balsamic vinegar that had a huge explosion of flavor as well as a lemon olive oil that I wish I had bought.

After we walked and shopped around some more and relaxed a bit at the B&B we headed out for dinner and ate at Paciarino which is an extraordinary Italian restaurant not far from where we ate at Flatbread Company. They hand make ALL of their pasta and sauces, and they import almost all of their ingredients straight from Italy. I was a little giddy about eating here since everything I saw on the menu looked fantastic!

And I was not disappointed AT ALL.

While we were waiting for our table I perused the shelf filled with delicious sounding (and looking!) straight from Italy delectables.

For my meal I got the Ravioli Goat Cheese al Pomodoro and Mr. Kitchen Misfit got the Maccheroni Paesani. Mine was full of flavor and the pasta was really really fresh. I stole a bite of the Mr.’s dish and it was extremely mild but at the same time had a lot of flavor. It was definitely one of the freshest meals I’ve had.

Goat Cheese Ravioli

Maccheroni Paesani

That meal was definitely one of the highlights of the trip. Well, that’s all for now. Look out for Part 2 sometime next week! For now, I’m actually heading BACK to Maine, but this time I’m heading to West Forks, ME to go white water rafting!! I’m so incredibly pumped to go!! See you guys next week!!

2 Responses to “Portland: A Recap”

  1. Christine Liu November 2, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    Hi there — I am totally obsessed with Portland eats, too! Paciarino is on my wishlist (among many-many-many: http://www.urbanspoon.com/u/wishlist/908370). I’ll have to conquer it next time; nothing makes me happier than handmade pasta (fave: pappardelle). Last weekend did a tour de force, including Duck Fat, Hugo’s and Local 188. Swoooon!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 in Review « Tales From A Kitchen Misfit - December 31, 2010

    […] September Joe and I visited Portland, ME. Check out the recap here and here. We had such a great time and will definitely be visiting […]

Leave a Reply

