Mango Ice Cream Yumminess

12 Jul

Boston has been going through a tremendous heat wave over the past week (luckily it has finally settled down) and I must have been clairvoyant because about a week before I FINALLY ordered my precious KitchenAid Ice Cream Maker that I have been DYING to buy! I was giddy when it came in the mail and I couldn’t wait to use it.

Well I figured this past weekend would be the day to start. I had some leftover mangoes that I desperately needed to make, and I happened to have a Mango Ice Cream recipe bookmarked that was really simple and I had all the ingredients! That and the fact it was 90 degrees outside gave me plenty of motivation to make it.

Mango Ice Cream

Adapted from ecurry

  • 500ml of half and half
  • 2 cups mango pulp
  • 1tbsp lime juice
  • 3/4 cup sugar (add more if you want your ice cream sweeter)
  • 1 tbsp rum

Combine all ingredients except for the rum and then chill in the freezer for 30 minutes to an hour

Prep your ice cream maker and make according to directions. Should take about 20-30 minutes to reach soft serve consistency. When you have about 2 or 3 minutes left add the rum – This prevents crystals forming when you transfer to the freezer.

Transfer to a freezer safe container and freeze for 2 to 3 hours – Or eat now, whatever you want! Serve alone or with some delicious leftover chocolate cake.

I was VERY happy with the way the ice cream came out and I’m determined to make my own ice cream from now on. It’s so incredibly EASY and tastes so much better than store bought ice cream! Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Mango Ice Cream Yumminess”

  1. Soma July 12, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

    Glad you liked it! Thanks for the mention.

  2. Jenn July 13, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    Looks and sounds delicious! I can’t wait to use the ice cream maker we got for our wedding. It’s still in storage at my in-laws’ place though!

    P.S. Love the new look! 🙂

Leave a comment