Not Your Average Birthday Cake

10 Jul

This past Thursday (7/8) was my husband’s birthday and I wanted to bake him a cake this year (He did turn the big 2-5 this year!). Let me tell you, I felt like I was on Iron Chef because I was trying to get it done before he got home from work. Not to mention it was a billion degrees inside the apartment because of the intense heat wave Boston is going through this week. I’ve decided that I would fail miserably if I was on Iron Chef because I can’t seem to process more than 2 things at a time. Or maybe it was because I though my brain was going to melt from the heat.

Anyway, my husband loves beer. So when I found this recipe for Chocolate Stout Cake I knew it was the birthday cake for him. I tweaked it just a little bit by using Sam Smith’s Nut Brown Ale instead of the Guinness. It made it taste kind of like banana bread. It had a lot of complex flavors, and I was happy that my husband liked it so much! I was in so much of a rush that I didn’t even write happy birthday on it, but I figured he was ok with that! So next time you want to step away from the traditional birthday cake, go ahead and try this one!

Not Your Average Birthday Cake (A.K.A. Chocolate Beer Cake)

Adapted from Chocolate Stout Cake by And Now for Something Completely Delicious

For the cake:

  • 3 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped
  • 2 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 14 tablespoons (1 3/4 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 1/4 cups plus 3 tablespoon sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup beer (I used Sam Smith’s Nut Brown Ale)
  • 2/3 cup freshly brewed coffee, at room temperature

For the chocolate ganache icing:

  • 8oz bittersweet chocolate chopped
  • 1 cups heavy cream

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour two nine-inch round cake pans lined with parchment paper.

Melt the chocolate in a double boiler over simmering water, stirring until smooth. Set aside. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together in a medium bowl. In the bowl of an electric mixer, beat together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time, beating after each (Read this part a few times. I was wondering why the hell my butter and eggs weren’t becoming light and fluffy when I realized I HADN’T ADDED THE SUGAR. Massive FAIL). Add the chocolate, stout and then the coffee (the batter will look curdled at this point, that’s okay). Add the flour in two additions and beat thoroughly until smooth and creamy.

Pour batter evenly into the prepared cake pans and bake until a toothpick comes out clean, about 30 minutes. Leave the cake in the pans for 10 minutes and then turn out onto a wire rack and cool completely. If cake layers are domed on top, trim with a knife.

To make the icing, heat the cream to boiling and then pour over the chocolate and whisk until smooth. Slather it on the cake and between each later and then enjoy!

4 Responses to “Not Your Average Birthday Cake”

  1. Janet July 10, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    Yum!!!!

  2. Kate July 10, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

    Sounds like something my hubby would love, too!!!

  3. Chef Dennis July 10, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

    that looks so chocolatey good!!!! beer cake who would have tought!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mango Ice Cream Yumminess « Tales From A Kitchen Misfit - July 12, 2010

    […] Transfer to a freezer safe container and freeze for 2 to 3 hours – Or eat now, whatever you want! Serve alone or with some delicious leftover chocolate cake. […]

Leave a Reply

