Privateer Rum Tasting

7 Nov

Two or three weekends ago, I had the opportunity to attend a private tasting of a brand new distillery located in Ipswich, MA – Privateer Rum Distillery courtesy of Boston Food Bloggers. I mean, who am I to say no to alcohol??????

Andrew Cabot is the owner of the infant Privateer Distillery, but make no mistake that the product that he provides is steeped in history. The distillery came to be after some research into his own history where he discovered that his ancestor (also by the name of Andrew Cabot) was a privateer during the American Revolution (how cool is that?!)

At this point it was pretty much destiny that the Privateer Distillery was born. I have to say, I was excited to taste their version of rum as I generally do not like traditional clear rum, I’m more of a dark rum person myself. Little did I know that was about to change.

At the Distillery, we were able to taste different types of traditional rums, the most commercial based, to somewhere in the middle, and finally Privateer. I have to say that Privateer was my favorite. Let’s just say it didn’t make me feel like I was getting heart burn as I was drinking it.

I think what I liked most about the Privateer headquarters is that it was part distillery, part bar, and part living room.

And of course we got to learn how rum is made. And we even got to have some samples of the product AS it was being made! How cool is that?!

And of course, being food bloggers, there was some delicious food. Lobster rolls anyone? I pretty much inhaled about 4 of these, they were so delicious.

One of the drinks that I was most excited to try was the Light & Stormy. Some of you may know that I’m OBSESSED with Dark and Stormy’s, so I was curious to see if this would be able to compete with my beloved D&S.

Made with Privateer Rum, Barritt’s Ginger beer, basil and lemon, this drink was out of this world! I couldn’t believe how well all the ingredients went together. I think my favorite part was the addition of the basil. It really kicked the drink to the next level. I can’t wait to make this drink myself!

We also got to sip some delicious and creamy clam chowder. I may have had a second cup…

Another drink that I was curious to try was the Nutty Brahmin. This drink was made with Privateer Rum, Frangelico, Kahlua and Bailey’s. This was NOT your average Mudslide. I have to admit, this was not a favorite of mine but many other people did like it.

Our main meal consisted of some delicious sweet Italian sausages with some beautiful caramelized onions and peppers with assorted condiments. The bread was a little much, but it was delicious non the less.

But let’s talk about dessert, shall we? How does apple cider donuts with maple cream sound to you? Because they sound and taste pretty amazing. These babies came from nearby Russell Orchards and were briefly grilled on the grill before being slathered with this delicious maple cream.

As if it couldn’t get any better I paired the donut with the William Tell, which was Privateer rum with apple cider, simple syrup, a touch of lime and cinnamon to finish it off. A-MAZING. Out of this world. My favorite drink by far, it seriously SCREAMED New England. And paired magnificently with the donuts.

A huge thanks to Rachel of Boston Food Bloggers for the wonderful opportunity and to Andrew Cabot of Privateer Rum for an amazing rum!

 

 

4 Responses to “Privateer Rum Tasting”

  1. Daisy November 7, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    a light n stormy?! how awesome is that. all these drinks are so creative!!

  2. iamahoneybee November 7, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    that place looks so cool. I think I would like the William Tell as well.

    PS…I would eat a bunch of those lobster rolls too!

  3. Joanne November 12, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    Okay so I am a TOTAL dark and stormy fanatic…and now I’m DEFINITELY going to have to try light and stormys. What an awesome experience!

Leave a comment