Corn Salsa

21 Sep

 

…And just like that I’m into Week 3 of Graduate School.

It feels like only yesterday that I was nervously awaiting my acceptance letter and really committing to changing the path my life was taking.

Right now it feels like life is moving at a million miles an hour. I can already feel the constant exhaustion setting in, trying to jumble the roles of full time student, full time employee, as well as training for a half marathon, continuing my karate practice so I can test for black belt in June, having a husband, feeding said husband (and myself) and finding time to pet my cat. And maybe spending time with friends.

Sleep? Sleep is OVER.RATED.

Want to know what is NOT over rated? Corn. Corn that I continually seem to get in my CSA. Please, more corn. Then it will feel like it is still mid July and NOT almost October.

I made this corn salsa for a 50th birthday party for one of my husband’s uncle. It was creamy and delicious. At one point, I grabbed a tortilla chip and dunked it into the dip, a woman next to me said “That dip is so good!” I responded by saying thank you and she told me she didn’t realize that I had made it and was just commenting on how awesome it was.

So yeah, believe me when I tell you this is pretty awesome. Make this salsa if you are still holding desperately onto summer and still refuse to wear tights even though you have goosebumps covering your legs. Make this salsa if you are a half dazed graduate student that can barely string two sentences together by the end of the day but can still manage to throw lots of ingredients into a bowl and stir. Make this salsa if you like corn. And if you don’t, well, that’s your loss.

Corn Salsa

Ingredients

  • 1 15oz can black beans
  • 3 ears of corn, kernels removed
  • 3 medium tomatoes, sliced and chopped
  • 3 scallions, sliced thinly
  • half bunch cilantro, chopped roughly (about 1/2 cups)
  • Juice from 2 limes
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 small jalepeno, seeded and chopped
  • 2 slightly under ripe avocados, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
Directions
– Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix. Let the salsa marinate for a few hours in the fridge in order for the flavors to meld. Serve with your favorite tortilla chips.
8 Responses to “Corn Salsa”

  1. iamahoneybee September 21, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    I love corn salsa!!! It’s fantastic! I love the flavors and texture.

    I love your photos! I love the contrast of summery food with the fall leaves.

    TJ’s makes a great tart corn salsa. No, I have never just eaten that & chips for dinner…

  2. Emily @ A Cambridge Story September 21, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    I hear ya (as another grad student)… Quick meals are the name of the game and I love this idea for a homemade dip that is fresh but easy!

  3. Michelle Collins September 21, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    Yum! I make something similar to this often for cookouts in the summertime. It’s always so light, refreshing and delicious!

  4. Molly September 21, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    Corn rules!

    How on earth are you rocking being a full-time grad student with having a full-time job? So Hermione Granger of you!

  5. Joanne September 22, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    Haha now you see how I function on a daily basis – little to no sleep! I love corn. This salsa = heaven.

  6. Daisy September 26, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    wow – you are crazy busy! congrats on getting into grad school if I hadn’t already told you (seeing as you are now in week 3!) hmm gotta love corn, this salad looks awesome.

  7. Daisy September 26, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    and when i say salad i mean SALSA. basically, it looks so good i want to eat it as a salad. đŸ˜‰

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. $15 for $30 Worth of Authentic Mexican Dinner Fare at Las Velas » Get your daily Groupon deals - September 22, 2011

    […] Corn Salsa […]

Leave a Reply

