Eggplant Burgers

14 Sep

One of the many good things that has come from getting a CSA this summer is how much more vegetables that we consume than we used to. It’s very rare that I actually go to Whole Foods and buy any meat anymore, because of the abundance of veggies that we get each week. We usually supplement our veggie meals with some sandwiches, and when we go out to eat we usually have meat, but we’ve unknowingly become almost vegetarian!

I explained this phenomenon to my husband, and he wasn’t quite sure how he felt about it.

But when you are eating deliciousness such as Eggplant Burgers, who needs meat anymore?

When I spotted these on Lizzy’s blog, I knew what I needed to do with the excess of eggplant we had been receiving of late. I clicked over to the inspiration behind Lizzy’s post  to see what kind of ingredients I needed.

I noticed that there actually wasn’t as much eggplant as I was hoping there was, so I adapted it and got rid of the extra beans, and subbed much more eggplant and hoped for the best.

And the verdict?

They were delicious! They definitely had the extra oomf of eggplant that I was craving, and because they are baked, they are super healthy to boot! I served them with a simple tahini sauce and pickles on a seeded bun, and BAM, dinner, is served.

 
Eggplant Burgers

Adapted from The Tolerant Vegan

Ingredients

  • 1 large shallot, minced
  • 2 medium sized eggplants, sliced (about 2 cups)
  • 2 tbsp dried parsley
  • 2 tbsp pine nuts
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 cup hummus
  • 1 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • 1 glove garlic, minced
Directions
Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Spray a baking pan with cooking spray and line the eggplant slices on the pan (you may need to use 2). Brush on olive oil and sprinkle salt and pepper onto both sides of the eggplant.
– Bake for 10 minutes on one side, flip over, and cook for an additional 5 minutes. Take the eggplant out of the oven and reduce the oven to 400 degrees.
– In a medium skillet, add 2 tsp of olive oil to the pan and cook the shallots and garlic until the shallot softens, about 10-15 minutes.
 – In the bowl of your food processor, combine the shallot mixture, parsley, pine nuts, cumin, red pepper flakes, hummus and eggplant and pulse until the mixture is mostly smooth, about 15-20 pulses.
 – Scoop the mixture into a bowl and with a spatula mix in the panko breadcrumbs. If the mixture appears too loose, add a few more tablespoons of breadcrumbs.
 – Make four large patties and place them on an aluminum or parchment paper lined baking pan. Bake the patties for 45 minutes, turning them over halfway through, until browned.
– Serve on a bun with tahini sauce (recipe below) and your favorite condiments.
Tahini Sauce
Ingredients
  • 3/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • 2-3 tbsp tahini (based on your preference)
  • Juice from 1 lemon
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste
Directions
Combine all ingredients in a small bowl and mix until combined. Add additional lemon or tahini to suit your tastes.
8 Responses to “Eggplant Burgers”

  1. Megan September 14, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    oh MY!! You know me and how much of a fan I am of veggie/bean burgers. And now eggplant? I must make these!

  2. Joanne September 15, 2011 at 6:48 am #

    Yay for being almost vegetarian! I mean…that’s kind of how I started. And then I realized I didn’t miss meat at all. And now here we are today. 😛

    I love the sound of these burgers! Bookmarked!

  3. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic September 15, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    I love eggplant and can imagine how much I would like these. Especially with the tahini sauce!

  4. Quinn September 15, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Well, hello tonight’s dinner! I have a hard time with eggplant but these sound like a nice way to get the eggplant eaten without frying it to death and/or smothering it in sauce. Looking forward to trying these, thanks for another awesome recipe!

    • Quinn September 16, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

      I loved these! And I don’t even like eggplant much. Also, I ate approximately 25% of the yogurt sauce with some carrots while the burgers baked.

  5. Lori @ RecipeGirl September 15, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    These look amazing. I love new ideas for dinner!!

  6. Meghan@travelwinedine September 20, 2011 at 8:00 am #

    Yum. . . I love how hearty these look while still being healthy! Perfect fall comfort food.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Eggplant Patties | CSA Recipes - October 11, 2011

    […] Holy crap I actually want to eat eggplant!  Based on a recipe from Tales From A Kitchen Misfit. […]

Leave a Reply

