Corn & Quinoa Burgers

9 Sep

Scary things are happening this week.

Something that hasn’t happened in over 2 years.

Yep, I’m going back to school.

I promise that I won’t be one of those annoying undergrads.

I’ll just be one of those poor graduate students that look down on undergrads with disdain.

With school coming up that means it’s almost the end of corn season. Delicious, sweet, yellow corn on the cob. This makes me sad. Even though with the end of corn season comes apple season, I will still miss all the corn we have been receiving in our CSA. I don’t think I’ve ever actually ate so much corn in one season. It’s boring to just eat it off the cob, even though it is delicious, so I’ve got to be more creative when it comes to using my ears of corn.

Obviously the next logical step is to turn them into burgers. Delicious burgers. With creamy homemade onion dip to go on top. If you decide to shallow pan fry these babies, uh, just be careful that your corn doesn’t become pop corn.

Just sayin’

I’m going to go back to the library now, where I will be living for the next two years. And glaring angrily at the undergrads. Ah, school days.

Corn & Quinoa Burgers
Adapted from An Edible Mosaic

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 large yellow onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups corn (about 2 ears)
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 2 tbsp dried parsley
  • 4-6 tbsp panko breadcrumbs
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • canola oil, for frying
Directions
 – Soak the quinoa in cold water for 15 minutes. Strain through a fine mesh sieve then rinse under cold water. Add the quinoa, warm water, salt and pepper to a small sauce pan and bring to a boil. Once it is boiling cover the saucepan and reduce the heat to a simmer for about 14 minutes. Remove from the heat and let sit 5 more minutes before fluffing with a fork. Set aside
– In a medium saute pan, add the olive oil, garlic and onion to the pan. Stir until the onions are opaque, about 5-7 minutes. Scoop out about half of the onion mixture and set aside. Add the corn and stir until the corn is starting to turn brown, about 5 minutes.
 – In a large bowl mix the quinoa, corn mixture, eggs, parsley, and red pepper flakes together. Add 4 tbsp of the breadcrumbs and add the extra 2 tbsp if the mixture is still too wet.
 – Form into patties (I used my biscuit cutter). Heat canola oil in saute pan and cook the patties until they are nicely browned on both sides, about 2-3 minutes per side. Serve with Creamy Onion Dip (recipe below)
Creamy Onion Dip

Ingredients

  • Remaining onion mixture
  • 1/4 cup greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • salt and pepper to taste
Mix all ingredients together and serve with the burgers.

 

 

 

10 Responses to “Corn & Quinoa Burgers”

  1. Elizabeth September 9, 2011 at 8:49 am #

    I love quinoa burgers. Such a great texture.

  2. Megan September 9, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    You will do swimmingly in school! Good luck! And I love the look of these corn and quinoa burgers. I’m always looking for new burger recipes and this one looks delightful.

  3. Erica @ In and Around Town September 9, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    Great way to use the corn from the CSA! Love the addition of the quinoa 🙂

  4. Emily @ A Cambridge Story September 9, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    These came out so beautifully! Making them this weekend (amidst my homework which I’m sure you’ll be doing too… good luck!)

  5. Taryn September 10, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    These sound great – what a creative way to use corn. The onion dip sounds good too – I’d love to make that just on it’s own for chips, veggies, etc.!

  6. Gina September 13, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    those look delicious!

  7. boozeinboston September 16, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    Thanks so much for posting this recipe! We have also been getting a TON of corn in our CSA this summer (4 ears a week for two people is a lot) and I’ve been trying to find new ways to use it up. I will definitely be giving this recipe a try 🙂

    Valerie

  8. Leah October 18, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    This was a total flop. I don’t know if the measurements are off or what but I ended up making it into quinoa “fried rice”. The patties weren’t even close to holding together to form a patty. Kids were hungry so I added some cumin and some peas and we salvaged the quinoa.

    • kitchenmisfit October 18, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

      Oh no! I’m sorry to hear that! What helped me to form the patties was to use a cookie cutter to pack down the patties and place in the skillet. I’m sorry if I didn’t mention that in the post!

  9. smugjoey November 6, 2011 at 2:02 am #

    super delicious post..keep posting

Leave a Reply

