Freezer Pickles with Carrots

5 Sep

I hope that everyone is enjoying their Labor Day weekend, which is the official end to summer. And it’s also the end of being able to wear white. Which I don’t really understand. But I suppose that’s an issue for another day.

Today, I want to talk about failure.

And success, but first, the failures.

So, many of you don’t know, but I take karate and have since 2007 (yes, I AM a ninja, thankyouverymuch). I took it when I was a kid but I had a lapse of about 8-10 years where I didn’t take it. I’m currently a brown belt, and therefore only one belt stands from me and black belt status. I’m suppose to be maybe probably testing for my black belt next summer, but again, another story for another day.

ANYWAY, to get to the damn point already, this Labor Day weekend was our organization’s tournament. It’s held every two years in a different city, and this year it was held in Boston. So obviously we had to represent. I competed in three different events. Again, if you know me, you know I’m VERY competitive.

My goal for this tournament was to place in each of my events. Sadly, I fell short on all three. I’m pretty sure I tied for 3rd in weapons kata (form) but because they add back the high and low, I ended up in 4th place.

But where I REALLY disappointed myself was in sparring. There were only 4 girls total in my sparring round, so I had a pretty good chance of placing. Well, didn’t I just have to go and screw that up by being disqualified in my first round for low kicks. And I was winning too. Needless to say, I was both rattled and incensed for my second round, and ended up losing that round as well, though fortunately I wasn’t disqualified.

I was pretty upset, needless to say. Even though I could find some comfort that the black belt (I’m pretty sure he is a 2nd or 3rd degree) that gave me my medal called me a great fighter, I was still disappointed in myself. My dojo-mates congratulated me and told me I did great, I just couldn’t shake the feeling of failure. It wasn’t until I had a good cry in the bathroom and came back out to cheer my fellow dojo-mates that I felt better.

Which brings me to failure #2. I’m training for my third half marathon in October, and today was suppose to be my first double digit training run. Well, needless to say, BIG fail. I barely eeked out 6 miles. I’d never had a run go that bad before, and I still haven’t decided if it was due to me not eating enough, not drinking enough, or just not having my head in the game.

Now so this blog post isn’t TOTALLY depressing, I’m going to tell you something I did that was NOT a failure. That was these freezer pickles. Let’s just say that making these pickles were stupid easy. You basically just mix the cucumbers in salt, let it sit, add the vinegar and salt solution, stick it in a zip lock bag, throw it in the freezer for the night, take it out and let it thaw, and BAM, delicious pickles.

At the end of the karate tournament all the black belts that are Needan and up (2nd degree & up) get to do their competition. My Sensei was among them. Sadly he did not place in any of his events, but that’s not to say he didn’t do amazing. Because he did. But I think watching him not win gave me some perspective. I’ve only been a brown belt for about 4 months, I’m pretty sure all of the other girls in my events had been a brown belt for at least a year. I didn’t get last place (well, except for in sparring, but there were only 4 girls anyway). My husband told me I looked scary angry when I was sparring.

Perhaps I was being a bit ambitious with my goals of placing. It was my first tournament in about 10 years. And even though my failed run from today reminded me again of my failure at the tournament, I just have to realize that crap like this happens, you have to live and get over it, and then just kick ass the next time.

Which I plan on doing.

So uh, if you see my on the streets, I wouldn’t mess with this running ninja.

Unless I’m giving out these delicious pickles.

 

Freezer Pickles
From the Joy of Pickling

Ingredients

  • 2.5lbs pickling cucumbers, thinly sliced 
  • 2 tbsp pickling salt (fine grained salt)
  • 2 medium carrots, grated
  • 1.5 cups sugar
  • 1.5 cups cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh dill
Directions
– In a large bowl, toss cucumbers slices with salt and let them stand at room temperature for 2-3 hours. Drain
– Mix the remaining ingredients in another bowl and pour the mixture over the cucumbers and mix well. Refrigerate overnight, or at least 8-10 hours.
– Pack the cucumber mixture and liquid in freezer bags or a rigid container and freeze.
– Thaw the pickle in the refrigerator for 8-10 hours before serving it.

 

8 Responses to “Freezer Pickles with Carrots”

  1. Gina September 5, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    Aww mandahh! You’re a winner to be! baha.

  2. Daisy September 5, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    fun recipe, the pickles look delish!! it sounds to me like you did pretty good in the tournament, all things considered. just means you’ll win next time!

  3. Joanne September 6, 2011 at 6:56 am #

    Aww babe, I’m sorry about the competition and about the bad run! We all have them sometimes. Thankfully, if you’re ALREADY doing a double digit run for a half in October, then you’ve got plenty of time to make up for it! And you’ve got these pickles to fuel you. You’ve just gotta find some way to combine them with pasta…or lots of bread.

  4. Jenn September 6, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    Sorry about the competition and the run, but I know you do PLENTY of things amazingly. 🙂

  5. Teri Babineau Laskowski September 7, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    You are young little grasshopper…You will do great in the next competition!!!!!! I have great faith in my daughter-in-law! Can you make these for our next gathering??? These look amazing! ❤

  6. Lindsey @ BeantownEats September 7, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    I just printed your pickle recipe, looks AWESOME! We’ve been on a pickle kick recently and I hope to make these over the weekend 🙂

  7. Taryn September 8, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    This is a great post, despite all the negativity. The most important thing is you realized bad things do happen… because there’s always time to make them better, try again, and then succeed! Also… your pickles look great. I’ve never made them, but apparently I should since they’re so simple! Good to see you last weekend 🙂

  8. cyndeehule October 10, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    Hey! I love your website! If you are interested in ideas, my website is vegan, and vegetarian gourmet food! http://gangybuffet.com/
    I am a college student journaling my way through cooking.

Leave a Reply

