Lemon Angel Food Cake

2 Sep

It’s official.

I can now call myself a baker.

Why?

Because I can make Angel Food Cake.

Let’s back up a minute. About 2 years ago, before I knew what a food blogger was, before I used my Kitchen Aid mixer on a regular basis, before I actually thought about what to make for dinner on a regular basis, I tried to make angel food cake.

It’s a good thing I don’t have photographic evidence.

I can’t even tell you how I made it. There’s a chance I may have used my Kitchen Aid, but I hadn’t really used it much, so I didn’t whip up my eggs enough, and I didn’t know to add the sugar to the whipped eggs gradually. There’s a chance I may have dumped all the sugar in at once.

Ooops.

Anyway, I pour the sickly contents into my bundt pan, stuck it in the oven, and hoped for the best.

I’m going to tell you right now this is not what came out.

The sugar was all crystallized, the cake barely rose, it was a little….sticky (what?). I suppose it tasted alright, but I think I ended up throwing most of it away. I vowed never again to make angel food cake. Store bought from now on.

Fast forward to 2 weekends ago when I said, that’s it I am going to tackle this damn angel food cake phobia.

Can you have a phobia of making angel food cake?

Anyway, I didn’t want a boring simple cake. I wanted something bright and refreshing. Since I’m obsessed with lemon, I thought it would be perfect.

I have to admit, I was a bit nervous. I watched my egg whites like a hawk. I added my sugar a tablespoon at a time. I oh so carefully slid the mix into the pan. I folded my lemon ingredients into the egg whites like I was wiping a baby’s bottom (weird?). And I carefully placed it into my oven. And 55 minutes later, the most beautiful angel food cake, with a golden crust, came out. I patiently waited for the cake to cool, and carefully used my off set spatula to eek my cake out of it’s cocoon. I cut myself a slice and dug in. Oh, it was magical. There was plenty of lemon flavor, and it was light and airy.

I may have had two slices.

But it’s ok because angel food cake is low in calories and blah blah blah.

So I’m good.

And I’m never buying store bought angel food cake ever again. My phobia is cured. HALLELUJAH!

Lemon Angel Food Cake
As seen on Fresh from the Oven

Ingredients

  • 1 cup (4 ounces) cake flour
  • 1.5 cups (10.5 ounces) sugar
  • 12 large egg whites, at room temperature (I used the bottled kind)
  • 1 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp juice from 1 lemon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp grated lemon zest
Directions
 – Adjust oven rack to middle low position and preheat oven to 350 degrees

 – In a small mixing bowl, whisk flour and half of sugar to combine and set aside. Using a stand mixer with the whisk attachment, add the egg whites to the bowl and begin mixing on low, until the mixture starts to foam. Add the salt and cream of tarter, crank up the mixer to medium high.

 – Gradually add the sugar, a couple tablespoons at a time, until all the sugar is incorporated. Put your mixer as high as it can go and mix until shiny soft peaks form (you should have a peak but then it should droop slightly). Turn down the mixer to medium and add the lemon juice, zest and vanilla extract and mix until combined.

 – Turn your mixer off and transfer your flour/sugar mixture to a sifter and gently sift the flour mixture onto the egg whites, about 1/4 cup at a time and fold it in using a spatula.

 – Transfer the mixture to your bundt pan or tube pan and level the top. Bang the pan on the counter a few times to release any air bubbles.

 – Bake in the oven for 55-60 minutes, until the top is golden.

 – If your pan has prongs on it, invert the pan and let the cake cook completely (about 1-2 hours). If your pan does not have prongs, gently flip onto a wire rack and let the cake cool

 – Once the cake has cooled, use a butter knife or off set spatula to gently run it over the edges of the pan (both inner and outer) being careful not to cut into the golden crust. Flip it over onto a cake stand or plate and gently shake the cake out of the pan. Try not to eat it all at once.
8 Responses to “Lemon Angel Food Cake”

  1. Joanne September 2, 2011 at 8:10 am #

    Well…that makes one of us! I’ve actually never attempted angel food cake cause of all those egg whites it uses. But one of these days I’m going to have to prove myself as a baker…

    Yours looks wonderful!

  2. Emily @ A Cambridge Story September 2, 2011 at 8:25 am #

    Congrats – it looks PERFECT. I can back you up on the difficulties of making angel food cake well and looks like you’ve succeeded. Love the lemon!

  3. Taryn September 2, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    This looks absolutely beautiful! When I was little, I ate angel food cake ALL THE TIME, but even still I’ve never been ambitious enough to try it myself. You did a masterful job – good work!

  4. Megan September 5, 2011 at 8:51 am #

    This looks light and beautiful and just like Heaven.

  5. Elizabeth September 5, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    Lemon angel food cake sounds lovely. I”m pretty sure I only ever made it from a box when I was very young.

  6. Winnie October 9, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    Great looking cake!
    I always have lots of egg-whites in the freezer (I bake lots of challahs, and use only egg-yolks) and I love the lemon idea
    Thanks for sharing

  7. Jesica @ Pencil Kitchen October 10, 2011 at 1:49 am #

    I believe you! you’re a baker now! I’ve failed angel food cake before!! Now, i’m going to make one, cuz you succeeded in it 🙂

  8. Rudie Hilton October 14, 2011 at 6:25 am #

    delicious..yummy…

Leave a Reply

