Corn Pesto Pasta

29 Aug

So as I write this we are currently in the midst of the beginnings of Hurricane Irene. Hopefully by the time this post goes live, everything will be back to normal with not too much damage. One can hope at least!

But let’s not talk about such things as measly hurricane’s (you here my Irene?!? I AIN’T SCARED OF YOU) and let’s instead talk about this amazing corn pesto. Oh, you’ve never HEARD of corn pesto? Yeah, I didn’t either, until I saw Joanne post about it. We have been consistently getting beautiful and delicious and sweet corn from our CSA for the past couple of weeks and when I saw her post, I immediately knew what I was making for dinner.

As the pest whirred away in my food processor, I snuck a taste just before adding the beautiful concoction to my pasta. I’m pretty sure it took all my being to not consume the entire bowl. It was creamy, it was sweet, it was cheesy, it was AMAZING.

You pretty much need to go to your nearest farmer’s market, buy some fresh corn, and immediately make this dish. You will not be sorry. I promise. Scout’s honor (not that I’ve even been a scout, but you get the idea)

Corn Pesto Pasta
Adapted from Eats Well with Others, originally from Bon Appetit

Ingredients

  • 4 cups fresh corn kernels (from about 6 ears of corn)
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 medium sized onion, sliced thinly
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan (I used a 3 cheese blend of Parmesan, Asiago & Romano cheese)
  • 1/3 cup toasted pine nuts
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil plus 4 tbsp
  • 1 package of your favorite pasta, cooked according to directions (I used brown rice shells)
  • 1 bunch arugula
  • 2 ripe tomatoes, chopped
  • Salt & Pepper
Directions
 – In a medium saute pan on medium high heat, add 2 tbsp olive oil to pan. Add the garlic and cook, stirring occasionally for about 2 minutes, until the garlic starts to brown. Add corn, salt, and pepper (to suit your tastes) and stir until the corn is tender, about 4 minutes. Remove from pan and put all but half a cup of the corn mixture into your food processor.

 – Add the cheese and pine nuts to the processor and turn on. While the food processor is going, slowly add in the olive oil until the pesto is smooth. Turn off the food processor and add in the remaining kernels. Using a spatula, mix everything together and set aside.

 – In the same saute pan add 2 tbsp olive oil to pan and then add the onions and cook until translucent, about 5-8 minutes. Add the arugula and stir to combine. Cook until arugula is slightly wilted, about 2 minutes more.

 – Once your pasta is cooked, drain pasta, reserving about 1 cup of pasta water. Return pasta to pot and add the corn pesto, arugula & onion mixture, and chopped tomatoes and stir to combine. Thin the pasta to your liking with the reserved pasta water. Sprinkle more cheese on top if you like your plate extra cheesy.
3 Responses to “Corn Pesto Pasta”

  1. Elizabeth August 29, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    Your version looks good and super creamy

  2. Michelle Collins August 29, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    This looks so fresh and delicious! I also made some pesto pasta this weekend, but made cilantro pesto and threw in some grape tomatoes.

  3. Joanne August 30, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    I could not be happier that you liked this! I wish I had more of it in my fridge.

Leave a Reply

