Blueberry Sour Cream Ice Cream

25 Aug

So, um, I have a small confession to make…

It’s almost September and this past weekend was the first time I used my ice cream maker this summer.

I know, I know, feel free to berate and talk smack about me all you want. I mean, what kind of food blogger am I that I haven’t even so much as made homemade ice cream ONCE this summer.

Don’t worry though, it was clearly worth the wait. You see, I had a whole bushel (maybe bushel is not the word, what do you call a group of blueberries?) of ripe blueberries from our CSA that were just BEGGING to be turned into ice cream. But not just any boring kind of ice cream.

Blueberry sour cream ice cream. I’ve never actually made an ice cream with sour cream in it. I’m not even sure I’ve eaten ice cream that was made with sour cream. But I am a sour cream convert. Now, I like a good old-fashioned custard based ice cream, with the golden egg yolks and the like. But it takes a lot of work. And when it’s 8PM on a Friday night and you are trying to watch the season finale of Master Chef (***SPOILER ALERT*** Really, they picked Jennifer?!? I was totally gunning for Adrian. Actually, I was pissed when Christian lost because I wanted him to win because he was repping the whole Masshole image HARD. He clearly made us all proud. But seriously, Jennifer?!?!?! Dislike. Also, end rant) you just want to be able to throw everything in a blender, then throw it into your ice cream maker, and let it do its thing. Which is exactly what happens with this ice cream.

Now the original recipe calls for heavy cream and full fat sour cream but I subbed half and half and light sour cream and it still tasted plenty creamy. I also wanted a more lemon taste, so I added a lot more lemon juice and zest, so if you really want the blueberries to pop, then scale back on the lemon. Oh, and blueberry ice cream with chocolate sauce? Best.Idea.Ever.

Blueberry Sour Cream Ice Cream
Recipe adapted from Blissfully Delicious

Ingredients

  • 2.5 cups blueberries (I used fresh)
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • grated zest of 1 lemon, plus the juice (use more or less depending on how much you want the lemon flavor to come out)
  • 1.5 cups half and half
  • 1.5 cups light sour cream
  • 1 tbsp dark rum
Directions
In a medium saucepan, bring the blueberries, sugar, salt, lemon zest and juice to a boil. Stir until all the sugar has been dissolved and the berries start to burst, about 3 minutes or so.
Let the mixture cool a bit and then transfer to your blender. Blend on high until the mixture is mostly smooth, then add the half and half. Blend to combine, then add the sour cream and blend again. Taste mixture and adjust the sugar and/or lemon as necessary.
Let the mixture cool completely in the fridge. I left my mixture in the blender because who wants to do extra dishes?
Once the mixture is cool add the rum and mix. Pour into your ice cream maker and churn per your ice cream makers instructions. Freeze the ice cream for at least 2 hours before serving.
9 Responses to “Blueberry Sour Cream Ice Cream”

  1. Emily @ A Cambridge Story August 25, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    Beautiful! I love the idea of adding sour cream. I’m hoping to get an ice cream maker for my upcoming bday to make recipes just like this!

  2. Elizabeth August 25, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    This sounds insanely delicious. I would love to try sour cream ice cream

  3. Daisy August 25, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    I feel like bushel is an appropriate term to describe lots of blueberries. the ice cream looks fantastic.

  4. Renee {Eat.Live.Blog.} August 25, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    Man I need an ice cream maker! This looks so yummy!

  5. Sue/the view from great island August 26, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    That color alone is worth making this for! I have lots of blueberries waiting in the freezer for just such an occasion as this. The addition of rum sounds lovely.

  6. Yudith @ Blissfully Delicious August 26, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    Glad you enjoyed it! And good to know that it still tastes great with light sour cream and half and half. Gorgeous picture 🙂

  7. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic August 26, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    My mouth is seriously watering as I’m reading this blog post. Awesome job and I love the color too!

  8. Taryn August 28, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    I’ve never thought to make ice cream with sour cream, but it sounds like it’s a good idea! This ice cream looks great – I love the pretty purple color.

  9. Tres Delicious August 29, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    Such an adorable blueberry ice cream. I want my own version of this.

Leave a Reply

