Chocolate Zucchini Bread

1 Aug

So in one of our recent CSA pickups we received a couple of zucchinis. I was at the point where I was sick of just sauteing them or roasting them in the oven. Which made me then think of dessert.

My father in law makes a mean zucchini bread. He doesn’t put chocolate in it but it is still delicious. I’m going to have to steal that recipe from him someday.

Seriously, I’m always in awe when I use vegetables in my baking on how amazing and moist and flavorful it turns out. You mean I can put veggies in my desserts and it’ll be healthy AND taste good?!? Um, yes please.

This zucchini bread was exactly what I was craving for these zucchini’s. I made them the day I took the tour at America’s Test Kitchen, and as I tweeted that it was currently in the oven I received a tweet from Megan jokingly asking if I would bring her a slice. Well, of course I said I would bring her a slice! That’s was friends (and food bloggers) are for.

Well, needless to say she told me I needed to blog this recipe ASAP. And here it is, two weeks later (that’s pretty good for me).

I need to tackle more veggie baked good recipes. Maybe Black Bean Brownies or Beet Cake is next on the list?

Chocolate Zucchini Bread

Recipe from Eating Well

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1.5 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 oz unsweetened chocolate, melted
  • 2 cups grated zucchini
Directions:
 – Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Coat one loaf pan (mine was 9×5) with cooking spray and set aside
 – Spread walnuts in a pie plate and toast them in the oven for 57 minutes, until fragrant
 – Whisk flours, cocoa, baking powder and soda, and salt in a large bowl
 – In a separate bowl, whisk eggs, applesauce, oil, vanilla and melted chocolate to combine.
 – Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients using a spatula and fold to just combine
 – Fold the zucchini and walnuts into the batter
 – Spoon the batter into your greased loaf pan and smooth the top. Add some extra walnuts and/or chocolate chips to the top if you’d like
 – Bake the loaf in the oven for 55-60 minutes until the top is set and a skewer inserted into the middle comes out relatively clean.
 – Let cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes in the pan then invert onto the rack and let cool completely
****DON’T FORGET!! Today is August 1st so wear PINK today to help support Fanconi Anemia. Tweet, email or Facebook me your picture if you want to be included in the album!!******

11 Responses to “Chocolate Zucchini Bread”

  1. Elizabeth August 1, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    It’s been forever since I’ve had or made zucchini bread. I definitely need to make this

  2. Taryn August 1, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    This looks fab! I’ve been wanting to make zucchini bread for ages, as I’m a huge quick bread fan and this is a more or less guilt-free way to make it, but haven’t found a recipe I love. I think I’ll give this one a try!

  3. Emily @ A Cambridge Story August 1, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    I absolutely LOVE this combination. Great thing to make with all the zukes from our CSA!

  4. Michelle Collins August 1, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    I love zucchini bread! And I love the addition of chocolate here.

  5. Megan August 1, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

    This was MIGHTY FINE! Thanks for cutting me a slice and sharing it with me! 😉 ❤

  6. Joanne August 2, 2011 at 6:50 am #

    Nom nom nom! I made zucchini banana bread this weekend…but really I think I was craving chocolate! This looks so good.

    I have to warn you about black bean brownies…I made them once and they are now known as the brownies that shall not be named. Bad. Really bad.

  7. Daisy August 2, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    what a unique recipe! I’d love a slice!! 😉

  8. nutritionforarunner August 4, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    Mmm that looks good

  9. run4joy59 August 12, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    I just made some zucchini bread this morning…but your recipe is next….yum!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Invasion of the Zucchini Recipes | Meal Plan Rescue - Seasonal meal plans, recipes and shopping lists - August 8, 2011

    […] Chocolate Zucchini Bread (kitchenmisfit.wordpress.com) […]

  2. What in the world am I going to do with all of this zucchini? « Run4joy59's Blog - August 12, 2011

    […] Chocolate Zucchini Bread (kitchenmisfit.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

