Currant Chicken Salad

20 Jul

This recipe was a lot of firsts for me. We recently got some red currants in our weekly CSA and I honestly had no idea what to do with them. I don’t even know if I had eaten anything with currants in it up to this point in my life. Is that sad? I hope not.

I popped a currant into my mouth and immediately tasted the tartness with a slight sweet undertone. I decided I would make something savory with these red currants, but what?

Why, the answer was simple! (Sort of) Chicken salad! I love love love chicken salad. There is a lunch spot near my office (Al’s South Street Deli in case you are wondering) that served a MASSIVE chicken salad sandwich. I could down one of those in a heartbeat. And then I would have to check that my heart was actually still beating.

You see, they use A LOT of mayo. I’m actually not a huge fan of mayo unless it’s in a chicken salad sandwich. Even then, I try to put more mustard than mayo in my salad concoction.

This time I decided to forgo mayo entirely and substitute it with it’s healthier cousin, Greek Yogurt. I have to be honest, I’m not a huge fan of Greek Yogurt on its own, but when it’s paired in a dish such as this? Amazing. You will not miss the mayo in this salad people. And you don’t have to be guilty about eating seconds, because this salad is actually HEALTHY for you!

Stick some on a bed of lettuce or even with your favorite bread, and you are golden.

Currant Chicken Salad

  • 2 cups cooked chicken, shredded (I roasted mine beforehand)
  • 1 cup fat free Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup chopped spring onions (use the greens too!)
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 2 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1/3 cup whole currants, packed tightly
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • Optional: 1/2 cup chopped roasted walnuts

In a small sauce pan, add the currants and sugar and stir to combine. Cook on medium heat until boiling and then reduce the heat and simmer to your desired thickness. I like to mash up some of the currants as well. Take off the heat and set aside to cool.

In a small mixing bowl, combine the greek yogurt, garlic powder, paprika, dijon mustard and red wine vinegar and mix to combine. Once the currants are cool, add the mixture to the yogurt mix. Add the chicken and spring onions and stir to combine. Add salt and pepper to taste. Add walnuts if you want an extra crunch.

Can be served slightly warmed, or if you want the flavors to meld a little more, cover with plastic wrap and let sit in the fridge for an hour. Serve over lettuce or in your favorite sandwich bread!

9 Responses to “Currant Chicken Salad”

  1. Renee {Eat.Live.Blog.} July 20, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    I love everything about this recipe! I generally do a 50/50 mayo/sour cream combo in my chicken salad. LOVE the addition of the currants! Great substitution for craisins! There used to be a place in Arlington called Sweet Sues that was not only a cheery and lovely lunch place, but they had the most amazing chicken salad too! Sadly, Sweet Sue decided she didn’t like paying taxes, and long story short….that chicken salad is no more! But yours completely reminds me of that one!

  2. Emily @ A Cambridge Story July 20, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    The addition of currants is great! I tend to swap mayo for Greek Yogurt a lot (especially in the summer).

  3. Elizabeth July 20, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    I so rarely see fresh currants used. Looks fabulous!

  4. Megan July 20, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    YUMMM. I love chicken salad. And egg salad. And anything with globs of mayo in it (Yes, I’m a huge lover of mayo!) But I also love the healthier versions, and this sounds extra tasty, especially with those optional walnuts. 🙂

  5. Taryn July 20, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    This looks really good! I’ve actually never had fresh currants that I can remember, but I like this recipe – and the fact that it’s made with yogurt instead of mayonnaise.

  6. kat July 21, 2011 at 6:03 am #

    YUM! That looks so delicious! I can’t wait to try that in a sandwich! Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging and love that there is a foodie community! If you have time, please check out my blog: http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/. And of course! Any advice would be great 🙂

  7. Daisy July 21, 2011 at 8:27 am #

    yum i love chicken salad sandwiches! I’ve been seeing a lot of different recipes lately, looks like I need to make some of my own.

  8. A Plum By Any Other Name July 24, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    So nice meeting you today! And no, you totally don’t have to feel guilty about your red currant consumption. And yes, greek yogurt totally allows you to double your consumption of chicken salad without adding additional guilt. Oh yes, and it also helps if you can rock short hair. Which you totally can. 😉

    • kitchenmisfit July 24, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

      You are too sweet! It was great meeting you as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

