4th of July at Cape Cod

6 Jul

Most people marry for love.

Some people marry for money.

Me?

…I married for cottages on the Cape and this:

That right there is low tide at the members only beach where my husband’s grandparents live in Eastham. Back in the late 1960s, Joe’s Grandma and Grandpa (Or Bapshi and Jaji as they are known to the kids) bought 4 cottages on a small dirt road minutes away from the beach. They bought these cottages because one day they wanted their kids and their grandkids to be able to have a place to come to during the summer.

Every time I come here I feel like I’ve won the lottery.

Ok, so I REALLY didn’t marry my hubby because of the cottages….I mean, just look at him, isn’t he so cute? But the private beach certainly doesn’t hurt…

We decided a few months ago that we wanted to make the trip down to the Cape for the 4th of July. We weren’t daunted by the traffic, or the thousands of people, or the fireworks. I just wanted a weekend of fun, sun, and most of all, BEACH.

And you know what? We must have had luck on our side because there was no traffic going down or coming back home from the Cape! How’s that for awesome?

While a majority of the weekend was spent reading, swimming, napping, and generally lounging around on the beach, we did manage to do some other things. Like go to the farmer’s market!

Orleans is pretty much considered to be Eatham’s older sister. Orleans holds their farmer’s market Saturday’s from 8AM until Noon and they seriously have quite a selection of items. From honey wax candles….

To a guy strummin his guitar…

Delicious jams, jellies, and mustard (we grabbed some Pluot jam!)….

Even some organic catnip! (Yes, my cat went crazy for it!)

We didn’t buy much especially since most vendors were running low by the time we got there (and it was only 10AM!) but we managed to grab some tasty items.

After the farmer’s market we spent most of the day at the beach. It was gorgeous out!

Later on in the day, after dinner, we went over to Nauset Light Beach, which is located on the ocean side. The beach where Joe’s grandparents live is on the bay side.

I got to dip my feet into the water. It was a lot colder than the Bay side! But still felt good!

We went for a nice walk on the beach. It’s pretty quiet and romantic, especially because there is only one set of stairs leading to the beach so not many people walk that far out.


We went to bed early that night because we were going clamming in the morning! We headed out to Salt Pond with Joe’s aunt and uncle and went clamming for Quahog’s.

It was actually a LOT of fun! At first we were the only one’s there but as 8AM came more people started to come! I was worried we wouldn’t get a lot of clams, but I was wrong! We actually got too many and we had to return some! The Pond was REALLY squishy, and my flip flops kept getting stuck in the mud, but the 4 of us managed to get a huge pail of clams. FOR FREE!!!!!!!!!!! I mean, how much more awesome is that?!

I know it doesn’t look like much, but that’s actual 10 quarts of clams! Joe and I spent the afternoon cleaning, steaming, and shucking clams. We ended up making a big batch of clam chowder (post coming soon!) and Joe’s grandfather liked it so much, he had three bowls! I had big plans to fry some clams, but I came down with a cold later on in the weekend and just didn’t want to have to deal with it! We ended up with a few dozen clams. Not bad for a half hour’s work.

After we went clamming, we still needed to get breakfast! So we headed to the place that sells the BEST donuts ever, Hole in One Donuts. There is ALWAYS a line going out the door, they are seriously the best donuts in the world.

This picture is the only glimpse of the donuts that you are going to get. I may have ate the donuts too fast to actually take a picture. We got 2 honey glaze yeast donuts, 2 sour cream cake donuts, a cream filled powdered donut, & a coconut chocolate cake donut. And they were amazing. So amazing I may have eaten 3 donuts in one sitting Down it with a large iced coffee, and I’m in heaven.

More beach time was had at this point. But then we decided to head over to the Wellfleet Flea Market

Seriously, this place sells EVERYTHING. You can get tshirts, discounted designer clothing, housewares, kitchenwares. Everything.

I bought an organic cotton t-shirt for only $8!

They also sell more traditional items when you think of flea markets. Spoon wind chimes anyone????

I was incredibly tempted to buy this tortilla press. Joe talked me out of it though. Sad face.

I wish I had a bigger house so I could fill it with knick knacks. le sigh

Along with these documented adventures, we went out for ice cream (twice, it was delicious) and took Joe’s younger cousins out mini golfing at the scariest mini golf course ever. I wish I had taken pictures. Giant mutant farm animals. Just use your imagination on that one. While we didn’t get to see any official fireworks, we did get quite the show from some amateurs.

All in all it was a fabulous weekend. I feel incredibly blessed to be able to have a place to come to whenever I want (within reason, heh) during the summer. I can’t wait to be able to bring our kids here someday and be able to expose them to the beautifulness that is the Cape! Hope everyone had just as great of a weekend as we did!

5 Responses to “4th of July at Cape Cod”

  1. Emily @ A Cambridge Story July 6, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    Wow you are lucky to have easy access to all of this!

  2. Megan July 6, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    You seriously lucked out. We usually rent a house in Eastham every 4th of July week. This is one of the first years we didn’t go. To me, it’s the best part of the Cape… quiet… a great spot for watching fireworks, but still plenty to do.

  3. Elizabeth July 6, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

    It all looks beautiful! The beach, the market, the donuts!!! I totally support you buying the tortilla press 🙂

  4. Dick Smith July 6, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    What a great place Eastham is. We have friends who live not far from the Eastham post office. It’s always a treat to visit with them

  5. Daisy July 7, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    i am in love with your 4th of July! what a perfect weekend. I adore those parts of the cape and spent a lot of time there growing up!

Leave a Reply

