I’M BACK!

1 Jul

Well, I’m back from vacation. It’s been a whirlwind week of emotions, exhaustion, and pure fun! For those of you that know me you know that it’s this time of year that I look forward to the most.

Every year in June I go to Camp Sunshine which is a camp for families that have children with life threatening illnesses. I volunteer for the same disease every year, Fanconi Anemia. Almost everyone that I know who is not connected to Camp in some way has no idea what FA is, and it’s because it is so rare. Only about 3000 people are born with this disease IN THE WORLD. In fact, the gathering of FA patients at Camp Sunshine is the only time you’ll see so many people with FA in one place.

It’s seriously like one huge FAmily reunion. The FA session at Camp Sunshine has the largest percentage of volunteers and families that return year after year. This was my 9th year coming to Camp Sunshine and my 8th time volunteering for the FA session. It is the most demanding session out of them all since as a volunteer you are CONSTANTLY with the children all day every day. The reason for this is because doctors from ALL OVER THE WORLD come to speak to parents about their children’s care and many parent’s will make life changing decisions here. It is truly an amazing place.

 

 

 

This year was particularly sad because two very important people were not present at Camp this year. We had a brick ceremony for both and it was very very emotional. Was was amazing was that on that day it had been raining but when it was time for the brick ceremony, the skies broke and it was perfect and sunny. We knew that both John & Nicholas were looking down on us.

And now, some pictures of my week at Camp Sunshine. Enjoy!

My adoptive family. Seriously, almost all of these people I consider part of my family. They are the best, love you guys!

Adorable 10 week old Baby Ethan. DON’T YOU JUST WANT TO EAT HIM UP?!?!? Or maybe have a baby of your own

One of my favorite girls ever, Jordan!

Jasper, who celebrated his 8th birthday at Camp, is all the way from Australia! Just shows how far families will come to go to Camp!

Another one of my top girls, Alessandra, who dressed up as one of the camp counselors for our masquerade ball.

We got to do fun activities like cookie decorating, and Baylor certainly took advantage of all the sprinkles available to him!

Obviously the day is not complete unless we play on the jungle gym.

During the week we have a Balloon Launch, where we all decorate balloons with the memories of those we have lost, and launch them into the sky hoping that they will reach all the way to heaven.

Obviously camp is not complete without a trip to the waterfront.

Even my parents come to volunteer! It’s like a family vacation!

There’s also a Wish Boat Ceremony. All the kids decorate small wooden boats and we light a candle on them and float them in the pond. Then we all make a wish!

My group! 6-8! I hadn’t done it in a while, and it wasn’t my first choice, but I had so much fun with them!

Already counting down the days until next year. Hope you enjoyed a little glimpse into a place that makes me happiness. And now to another place that makes me happy…..CAPE COD! Hubby and I will be heading to the Cape for the 4th of July! Hope everyone has a safe and happy 4th!

2 Responses to “I’M BACK!”

  1. Elizabeth July 1, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    What a fantastic place and a great tradition you have. Looks wonderful

  2. Daisy July 5, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    welcome back! I was loving your tweets about the cape 🙂

    This looks like such an incredible experience. I love that you and your family go every year. thanks for sharing it with us.

Leave a Reply

