Strawberry Cream Scones & the Best Weekend Ever

14 Jun

So, how was everyone’s weekend?

Photo Courtesy of Nicole @ Iamahoneybee

My weekend was pretty flipping fantastic. I basically satisfied a life long dream of mine by going to see my favorite band on the face of the Earth this weekend. I’m talking about none other than NKTOBSB (My favorite band being the BSB portion of this acronym)

Let me give you the rundown of this epic concert that I attended this weekend, in bullet form.

  • Mark Wahlberg introduced NKTOBSB. If you know me at all, you know that I am in love with Marky Mark. Like, IN LOVE. Like, I-would-divorce-my-husband-and-run-away-with-him-if-he-ever-asked love. Do you have a list with your spouse about who you get to hook up with if ever the chance came up? Mark is #1 on that list. (I think Tina Fey is on hubby’s list). Poor Nicole had to deal with me screaming my every loving head off when he came on stage
  • I still know all the words to songs I haven’t heard in 10+ years.
  • Half naked men in the rain WILL reduce you to your former 15 year old hormonal self
  • I LOVE RAIN. See previous bullet.
  • Nick Carter using the stage as a Slip N Slide and almost flying off said stage, MAGIC.
  • When the Backstreet Boys bring 4 girls on stage and commence serenading them, you WILL turn into a jealous 12 year old who will want to rip their heads off
  • Even the mere suggestion that a shirt will be taken off will send women of all ages into hysterics
  • The fact that they were selling snap bracelets and Naughty by Nature made a guest appearance made me think I was actually back in the 90s.
  • Donnie Wahlberg is H-O-T. Obviously not as hot as my love Mark but those Wahlberg’s are blessed with some amazing genes. I would like a Wahlberg sandwich TO GO thanks
  • Greatest concert ever in the history of ever
  • Did I mention half naked men in the rain?
I love you Mark!
I was definitely more into the Backstreet Boys than New Kids on the Block. I got into NKOTB towards the end of their career, but I followed BSB from beginning to now. Remember how you used to get into fights with the other girls about who was better, *NSync or BSB? Oh wait…..you didn’t have those fights? Nevermind then
I ❤ Brian 4eva
Side Note: Brian is my favorite. While the majority of girls were pining over Nick Carter (fact: he kind of bugs me) I loved soft spoken and hilarious and omg cutest boy ever Brian. Everything about this concert was epic. The venue, the group, the songs, the experience. EVERYTHING. It was kind of amazing to see girls my age (and older! Much older!) scream like 15 year olds again when they sang. I went with Nicole of I Am A Honey Bee and she has some fantastic video of the concert! Go check it out!!!
I’m going to tell you right now that these scones have nothing in common with the concert except for the fact that I made them on the same day and they are delicious just like all the members of NKOTBSB. Yeah, I said it.
I bought some delicious strawberries at the farmer’s market in Dewey Sq and knew that scones were going to be on the agenda. Cream scones. Because when you have delicious strawberries from the farmer’s market, you want to treat them right.
What’s great about this particular recipe is that it’s for only 4 scones! Now, I love sweets just as much as the next girl, but my butt and thighs don’t. So when I find a recipe that’s been cut down to a reasonable amount so I can still get my fix but don’t have to worry about gaining 20lbs, I make it. The original recipe calls for currants, but I really wanted to use my strawberries, and I think they worked great! This will definitely be my go to recipe when I want to make a couple of scones for breakfast!
Strawberry Cream Scones
Slightly adapted from Cooking for Two
  • 1 cup (5oz) all purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter, cut into 1/4″ pieces and chilled
  • 1/3 cup sliced strawberries
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
Adjust oven rack to middle position and heat oven to 375 degrees. Line rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper.
Pulse flour, sugar, baking powder and salt together in food processor to combine, about 3 pulses. Scatter butter evenly over top and pulse until mixture resembles coarse cornmeal with some slightly larger butter lumps, about 6 pulses. Transfer mix to a large bowl and stir in strawberries then stir in cream until it can be formed into a loose ball.
Flour your countertop and form the ball into a 5″ round disk. Cut into 4 scones and place on parchment paper lined baking sheet and bake for about 10-15 minutes, or until the top is golden brown. Let stand about 5-10 minutes and then serve with your favorite side of whipped cream.
7 Responses to “Strawberry Cream Scones & the Best Weekend Ever”

  1. Elizabeth June 14, 2011 at 8:16 am #

    This post was hilarious 🙂 Loved your recap of the concert and clearly the scones look fabulous.

  2. Jen @ BeantownBaker.com June 14, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    You’re hilarious! I was never a huge fan of either band, but it sounds like an awesome concert.

  3. Emily @ A Cambridge Story June 14, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    I agree with you 100% on the Nick vs. Brian situation. Also – I am loving all this strawberry and cream these days – these scones look perfect!

  4. Jenn June 14, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    SIGH. So freakin’ jealous. I had no plans to go to the concert, but would have liked to have gone. THEN, 2 days before, 3 friends separately posted about having extra tix. But alas, I had plans and was unable to attend. Like you, I was a BSB girl more thank NKOTB. So glad you had an awesome time, but not glad I wasn’t there! 😦

  5. Taryn June 14, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    The scones look great! Nice and fluffy and airy. I’ve been meaning to make scones lately but haven’t gotten around to it… but these are making me think I really need to find the time! Yumyum.

  6. Rebecca Hsiang June 15, 2011 at 2:55 am #

    Quick questions, how many scones does this recipe make?

Leave a Reply

