Eat Pop-Up @ British Consulate

5 Jun

A few weeks ago husband and I went to the Pop up restaurant at the British Consulate which is hosted by Eat Boston. As visitors to London before, we were really excited to relive some good memories of London.

The menu was presented to us beforehand and it was seriously impressive.

For cocktail hour we got to nosh on some seriously tasty tidbits. The first was my favorite. Toasted bread with a mango chutney spread and cheese. I ate 2 they were so good.

The second appetizer that was passed around was not my favorite. It was a small version of haggis, which as you may or may not know is a sheep’s liver, heart and lungs mixed with herbs and cooked in the stomach. I took a tiny bite and gave the rest to my husband. Not my thing AT ALL.

The next thing that was served was pigs in a blanket, with sausage wrapped in phyllo dough. Also very difficult not to consume 5 of these. Meat wrapped in dough, I mean, how can you really go wrong?

There was also a good selection of drinks on tap. Sadly, they didn’t serve any true British beers, but Pretty Things was there with their Field Mouse’s Farwell. It was delicious! I also tried the Tom Collins, which was being made with a local gin from Berkshire Mountain Distillers. I’ve never really drank gin, but this drink was good! We also sipped on wine from Bear Flag Wine during our dinner.

Once we sat down we were greeted by a pretty floral arrangement courtesy of Bittersweet Gardens.

Our first course was probably my favorite course, which was seared foie gras and a homemade crumpet with maple gel, HP powder, pickled berries,  and lemon butter. It was like melt in your mouth good. Just give me a side of clotted cream and I would be in heaven.

The second course was an interesting take on Indian street food which is very popular in London. This was a chicken korma soup with curry leaves, green garlic and fiddleheads. I had never really tasted fiddleheads before but they had a pleasantly mild flavor that complemented the spices from the korma soup. A great interpretation.

We also got a visit from Will Gilson in between each course in which he described what the dish was and how it was inspired.

The third course was a fun take on an English Breakfast. My husband is a HUGE English breakfast person and we must have had a traditional English breakfast for the majority of our trip in London. I loved this interpretation. Earl grey tea smoked duck bangers with bubble and squeak, griddled tomato and fried local egg. The egg was OUT OF THIS WORLD. I’m telling you, that picture is 100% accurate, the yolk was that spectacular color. And it was delicious.

Another interesting take on an English classic, fish and chips. This dish was made with Local Dayboat Cod, brik batter, crispy fried parsnips, leek cream, citrus and basil tartar sauce. It was probably my least favorite of the night, but it was still excellent. I only wish there was a tad more flavor, maybe extra tartar sauce? But otherwise, the fish was delicate and cooked to perfection.

I was looking forward to dessert the whole night. This was their interpretation of Sticky Toffee Pudding. I had the most SPECTACULAR sticky toffee pudding in London and I was seriously looking forward to reminiscing about it. This was a very different take, but it was still very good. The cake was on the drier side, but I liked the addition of the crumbled candy bar. The lavender whipped cream was also a nice touch.

The total cost for the two of us was $140 which seems steep I know. But seriously, totally worth it. This was our first pop up experience and will certainly NOT be our last.

Also, if you are planning to be anywhere near Truro down on Cape Cod, make sure to stop at Adrian’s restaurant because the Eat Boston team is going to be setting up shop there for the summer. I can’t wait to go down the Cape and visit!

3 Responses to “Eat Pop-Up @ British Consulate”

  1. Megan June 7, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    The cod looks the most appealing to me… interesting that it was your least favorite.

    P.S. I think you mean Will Gilson.

    Can’t wait to check out Adrian’s!

    • kitchenmisfit June 7, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

      Ooooh thanks for pointing out my error! I don’t know what I was thinking! The cod was definitely the prettiest, but just didn’t hold a lot of flavor for me 😦

  2. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic June 9, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    Sounds like a great event! I went to one of Will Gilson’s pop-ups a couple of months ago too, always a good time!

Leave a Reply

