Slow Cooker Sloppy Joes

23 May

When I was a kid my Mom always made Sloppy Joes. Except we didn’t actually call them Sloppy Joes. We called them Manwich. Because of the can. I never really thought about the word Manwich until about five seconds ago. I mean, what kind of word is that anyway? Are they trying to say that only men can have this sandwich? I mean, I guess Girlwich doesn’t have the same ring to it, and you can’t really call it Personwich because then people are going to think it’s made from PEOPLE.

Basically, they should have rethought the whole name thing really.

And FYI, when I was a kid I used to each two manwiches.  So there.

Let me tell you, this Sloppy Joe’s recipe is most certainly NOT from a can. It’s way better than a can. It’s probably the best Sloppy Joe I’ve ever had.

I mean, it’s from America’s Test Kitchen, so obviously it’s a winner. I think actually the only thing I would change about the recipe is using a leaner ground beef. We usually get 90% ground beef or even turkey, and there was A LOT of fat when everything was settled and it bothers me and hubby’s stomach’s for a bit. It was still delicious, don’t get me wrong, but I prefer the leaner ground beef. I think next time I make this I will try it with ground turkey since I LOVE using ground turkey.

Sloppy Joe’s
From Slow Cooker Revolution

  • 2 slices high-quality white sandwich bread, torn into quarters
  • 1/2 cup whole milk (I used skim)
  • 2 lbs 85% lean ground beef
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil (I used canola)
  • 2 onions, minced
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 15oz can tomato sauce
  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp hot sauce
Mash bread and milk into paste in large bowl using a fork. Mix in ground beef, 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper using hands.
Heat oil in 12″ skillet over medium-high heat until shimmering. Add onions, garlic, and chili powder and cook until onions are softened and lightly browned 8-10 minutes.
Stir in beef mixture, 1 lb at a time and cook until no longer pink. Stir in 1 cup tomato sauce, scraping up any browned bits. Transfer to slow cooker.
Stir remaining tomato sauce, ketchup, sugar and hot sauce into slow cooker. Cover and cook until beef is tender, 6-8 hours on low or 3-5 on high.
Let mixture settle for 5 minutes and then spoon out fat from surface. Season with salt and pepper. Spoon onto buns and serve. Cheese optional.
8 Responses to “Slow Cooker Sloppy Joes”

  1. HH May 23, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    totally making these one night this week! yum!

  2. Megan May 23, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    Amanda, you of all people should know that cheese should NEVER be optional.

    Also, I love Sloppy Joe’s. My mom always made it with a McCormick spice packet, but this sounds pretty amazing.

  3. Megan May 23, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    My love for Manwich is probably one of those things I shouldn’t mention as a food blogger, but really… I grew up on the stuff and was always very fond of it. I keep meaning to try this recipe to see if I like it… and to convince my fiance he would like sloppy Joes.

  4. Jenn May 23, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    YUM. How many servings does this make??

  5. Elizabeth May 24, 2011 at 7:09 am #

    Haha, manwich is a pretty awesome word 😛

  6. Dew June 23, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    Just got around to trying this recipe tonight. So great on a chilly day; hey summer where’d u go? I used ground bison instead of beef, portuguese sweet bread as the filler. I think I would cut back on the wet ingredients a tad, a little too sloppy and not enough Joe for me.

Leave a Reply

