Homemade Nutella Tart

10 May

At one point in time Nutella was always available in our apartment. I’m pretty sure it was a National Crisis if the Nutella jar was empty at any point. Husband loves Nutella so much he would just eat it out of the jar. With a knife. Yeah, I know, he’s weird.

Then, one day, we just….stopped. Stopped buying Nutella. I would ask Hubby if he wanted any Nutella and he would just shrug and say “Nah.” Perhaps he was trying to reduce the amount of Nutella crust surrounding his heart? Maybe.

Well, let me tell you, one bit of this homemade nutella tart and you will NEVER WANT TO BUY NUTELLA AGAIN. Partially hydrogenated oil? Pah. How about cream, butter, chocolate and ::gasp:: hazelnuts. Granted, it’s not exactly HEALTHY for you, but it’s better than the jarred stuff. Maybe. Probably. Just go with me here.

I made this Nutella tart for Easter and it was consumed so quickly I didn’t even have time to snap a picture of a slice. The crust came out a little harder than I wanted, given that once someone attempted to cut a piece of the crust it would projectile itself across the room. (This seriously happened every.single.time someone tried to cut the crust with their fork) Whoops. Let’s just say my crust technique isn’t very professional. I tend to just cram the crust into the mold and let it sort itself out.

I had a ton of nutella leftover (OM NOM) because I used an 8″ tart pan instead of the called for 10″ tart pan. Feel free to drizzle the homemade nutella on ice cream, spread it on toast, add to your milk, or just eat out of the tub. With a knife, of course.

Homemade Nutella Tart

Adapted from the Flour Bakery Cookbook

  • Your favorite tart crust – I used the one from the Flour Cookbook as well but I’m too lazy to write it all out (Be honest, you’re only looking for the Nutella part anyway)
  • 1 cup whole hazelnuts
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 3/4 lb milk chocolate, chopped
  • 6 oz semi-sweet chocolate
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
In a skillet on medium heat, toast the hazelnuts until dark brown and fragrant. Let cool. Set aside 16-20 hazelnuts for garnish. Pulse the remaining hazelnuts in a food processor until finely ground.
In a small saucepan, combine cream and nuts and scald over medium-high heat. Do NOT bring to a boil. When the edges start to bubble, you can stop.
Remove from heat and let sit for about an hour. Then, strain the cream through a mesh sieve into a bowl or pitcher.
Place both chocolates in a medium heatproof bowl. Place over barely simmering water (or use a double boiler if you have it) and heat, stirring occasionally, until completely melted. Remove from heat and whisk in the cream until fully combined. Add the hazelnuts, salt, and vanilla and whisk to combine.
Pour the mix into your baked tart shell until filled to the rim. Let the tart chill in the refrigerator for 3-4 hours. If you’re in a pinch, place in the freezer for about an hour and you should be fine.  Remove from fridge about 2 hours before serving.
13 Responses to “Homemade Nutella Tart”

  1. Elizabeth May 10, 2011 at 8:02 am #

    Want. I seriously wish I could be eating this for breakfast right now.

  2. Chocolate&Wine May 10, 2011 at 8:23 am #

    I LOVE nutella but I never buy it because its not really that good for you and I too eat it straight from a jar.. but with a large spoon. Guilty. But for a special occasion, a nutella tart would go just as fast in my family!

    xo – Marie
    Chocolate & Wine

  3. Megan May 10, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    I would very much like to stuff my face with this gooey goodness.

  4. Emily @ A Cambridge Story May 10, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    Wow, this is a great concept. I used to eat Nutella out of the jar (and now don’t buy it as often!)

  5. Megan May 10, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    I have a special place in my heart… er, stomach, for Nutella. Love the stuff. This tart sounds fabulous!

  6. cheryl sigman May 11, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    I can’t resist sweet, sensational desserts. If I made this, I would probably eat it before my guests had a chance at it!

  7. fooddreamer May 11, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    Fantastic! I make homemade nutella a fair bit and this sounds perfect for me.

  8. Tania deLuzuriaga May 13, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    Man, homemade Nutella has been on my to-do list for months now. Need to get on it and make something like this!

  9. Kristina Vanni May 17, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    Eating out of a jar with a knife is weird? Uh-oh…guess I am in trouble, I do that all the time 🙂 This recipe is simply to die for! I will have to make this next time I am entertaining.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 30 Assorted Mignon Continental Cakes - Deals2Inbox - May 10, 2011

    […] Homemade Nutella Tart […]

  2. 30 Assorted Mignon Continental Cakes | 4 Real Cheap - May 10, 2011

    […] Homemade Nutella Tart […]

  3. A Few Random Morning Links … | The Pretense of Knowledge - May 12, 2011

    […] Homemade Nutella Tart Frozen Reese’s Peanut Butter Pie Cocoa Marshmallow Krispie […]

  4. Summer Recipe: Nutella Mousse « Agordonins's Blog - May 16, 2011

    […] Homemade Nutella Tart (kitchenmisfit.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

