Pride & Passion 2011

5 May

Last week I had the amazing opportunity to attend the Greater Boston Parents, Families & Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG) Pride & Passion 2011 at One Marina Park Drive near the Waterfront thanks to Elizabeth over at Free Food Boston.

We were in for a total treat. A live and silent auction (which I would have loved to participate in if I had the money. I mean, one of the live auction items was a SAFARI IN SOUTH AFRICA. How cool is that?!?!?), a performance from Tufts University The Beezlebubs (they were adorable and super talented), and not to mention, some fabulous food from some amazing chefs, such as Jodie Adams, Ana Sortun, and Susan Feniger, among others.

But first, a little about PFLAG. PFLAG’s mission statement is:

Greater Boston PFLAG works to create environments of understanding so that all people can live with dignity and respect through:

  • Support: to cope with an adverse society
  • Education: to enlighten the public
  • Advocacy: to end discrimination and to secure equal civil rights  

Greater Boston PFLAG provides opportunity for dialogue about sexual orientation and gender identity, and acts to create a society that is healthy and respectful of human diversity.

I was incredibly honored to be able to be a part and support this wonderful cause. And now, onto the food!!!

First up, from Street and Border Grill was a sea bass ceviche with red cabbage, guacamole and a plantain shell. I don’t know if it was fried or what, but it was amazing. Great mix of flavors, and the plantain had a nice crunch to it.

Next up was Lamb Shawarama with tahini yogurt from Sofra & Oleana. First off, get a load of that GIANT cast iron skillet. I loved this so much I went twice. The lamb was moist, and the tahini yogurt was out of this world. I think I need to visit Oleana SOON.

Stella made cod fritters with some kind of tartar sauce I think? I’m a BIG fan of cod fritters, and these were good. A little dry, but still tasty.

Another favorite were the mini veggie burgers from Upstairs on the Square. I’m a HUGE fan of Upstairs, and these burgers were great. Black beans, edamame, corn, and other yummy veggies, plus a smooth guacamole type sauce finished it off great. Plus, they were mini. Which makes them even better.

Grill 23 had Braised Beef Taquitos also with guacamole on them (seemed to be the theme of the night). The beef was tender and nicely flavored. Definitely a winner.

The Bristol Lounge had a chickpea salad with goat cheese (or it might have been gruyere?? I CAN’T REMEMBER) fondue. The chickpeas had a nice crunch to them, and the cheese was melted perfectly. Yummy.

Rialto made a char crudo on a dukkah cracker with radish, fennel pollen and tangerine oil. I have no idea what most of that means, but I do know that it was delicious. I love Jodie Adams, and I love Rialto, and their take on creative dishes.

The martini’s were provided by Grey Goose Vodka. I’m usually not a martini fan, but this Citron Raspberry Whip martini was so sweet I thought there was no alcohol in it. But then I was told it was ALL alcohol and then I immediately put it down. eheh.

Legal seafoods had a shrimp concoction on some chard. The crunch of the chard was nice and the shrimp was creamy, but I guess I just don’t like the flavor of chard.

Did I mention the event was held on the 13th floor?? The view was pretty amazing.

Let’s not forget DESSERT! Cupcakes were provided by the South End Buttery and they were AWESOME! Elizabeth and I plus her two friends tore into those babies. We tried the carrot cake, red velvet, chocolate ganache, strawberry cupcake, and maybe another one. I can’t remember. But they were all moist and delicious.

My favorite touch was all of the tables that were on the side where the live auction was being held. A rainbow of matching chairs, candles, table covers, even the icing on the cupcakes matched!! It look AMAZING and I loved the cupcake touch.

This was such a fantastic event, with amazing food, amazing location, amazing auction items, amazing cause. I was very happy to be able to attend this great event and encourage you to support PFLAG!

P.S. Remember that Cream Cheese Coffee Cake I made for Bloggers Bake for Hope? YOU CAN NOW BID ON IT!! So what are you waiting for?!?? BID BID BID!!!!

3 Responses to “Pride & Passion 2011”

  1. iamahoneybee May 5, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    that food looked amazing!

  2. Megan May 6, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    That martini…
    And those cupcakes…
    And those veggie burgers…
    Drool fest at my desk over here.
    Drool. Fest.

  3. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic May 8, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    Looks like an amazing event! I saw the Beezlebubs in concert a few years ago and they were so awesome. And yes you have to visit Oleana soon!

Leave a Reply

