Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies

3 May

I’m always wary when people use superlatives such as best, greatest, perfect, so amazing it’ll knock your pants off to describe, well, pretty much anything.

For example,

The Greatest Bar – Should probably rename itself the Worst bar.

The Best Damn Sports Show Period – Not only do they use the superlative best, but it’s an imperative statement damnit! Whether it actually IS the best sports show ever, is debateable.

World’s Best Cat Litter – Now I have a cat, and I’ve never even heard of this brand of cat litter. That doesn’t stop it from being the world’s best cat litter, but you’d think people would have heard of it

World’s Best Recipe Search – A lot of these recipes tout themselves as being the World’s Best what have you. That’s a pretty lofty statement. I haven’t tried any of these recipes but let’s hope that they live up to their name.

The Perfect Recipe Cookbook – Again, I haven’t heard or know what’s in it. But one wonders if they got every single recipe right.

Which brings me to America’s Test Kitchen and their Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies. You’ve heard me wax poetic about how much I love America’s Test Kitchen. So when I learned that they were holding a contest for Boston Food Bloggers and their recipe for Perfect Chocolate Chips Cookies I didn’t care if they ended up being the worst chocolate chip cookies ever (they weren’t) I was entering the competition.

I mean, if you win you get to watch a taping of America’s Test Kitchen!!! Not to mention go on a tour of the test kitchen. WHO DOESN’T WANT TO DO SOMETHING LIKE THAT?!?!!?! Yeah I didn’t think so.

But I have to be honest, the prize caused a bit of marital strife. You see, if you win you get to bring a guest. When I was talking to my husband about it he asked me if he could be my guest. ::Insert awkward moment here::  You see, hours before I had already pinky sweared (and you know that means business) to Megan that if either of us won, we would take the other. It was a tense few minutes.  But needless to say, there are no divorce proceedings going on and he got to have some delicious cookies out of the deal.

I didn’t do much tinkering around with the recipe because if it touts itself as the PERFECT chocolate chip cookie, why should any tinkering be involved? In fact, the only difference was that I didn’t have enough chocolate chips ::gasp:: And when I asked my husband if he wanted me to add walnuts to the cookie he looked at me like I just committed blasphemy. Ooooooooooookay.

But even with the scant cup of chocolate chip cookies I used the recipe was great. Browned butter deserves its own category of awesomeness and when I bit into the gooey-on-the-inside-crispy-on-the-outside cookie it really tasted like toffee/caramel. Love.

Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie

From Cook’s Illustrated

  • 1 3/4 cups (8 3/4 oz) all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 14 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 cup (3.5 oz)  sugar
  • 3/4 cups (5 1/4 oz) packed dark brown sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 1/4 cup semi sweet chocolate chip cookies

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and place oven rack in middle position. Line 2 large (or 1 if you don’t have 2 large) baking pans with parchment paper and set aside.

Combine flour and baking soda in a medium bowl and set aside.

With a 10″ pan (do NOT use non-stick, you won’t be able to tell when the butter is browned) heat 10 tbsp butter on medium high heat until melted. Continue cooking, swirling constantly until nutty and golden brown. Remove from heat and pour into a bowl. Add the remaining 4 tbsp butter and stir until combined.

Add sugars, salt and vanilla to bowl and whisk until fully incorporated. Add the egg and egg yolk and whisk until no sugar lumps are left, about 30 seconds. Walk away from the mix for 3 minutes (go to the bathroom, dance to your favorite Glee song, pet your kitty, annoy your husband). Repeat the 30 seconds whisking and 3 minutes doing something else 3 more times.

Using a rubber spatula, stir in flour mixture until just combined. Fold in chocolate chips and combine, making sure no flour pockets remain.

Divide dough into 16 portions, either with your hands or a cookie scoop. Bake 8 at a time, for 10-14 minutes, turning once. Let them cool on a wire rack completely before eating. Or you can skip that step and eat them straight from the oven. But if you burn your tongue it’s not my fault.

13 Responses to “Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Taryn May 3, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    These look great! I can’t wait to try them. Also, I love that plate you used – it’s adorable! Good work 🙂

  2. Elizabeth May 3, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    I NEED to try this recipe. They look so good, and so thick! Love the story btw 😛

  3. Megan May 3, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    These indeed look perfect! I can’t wait to try out this recipe myself for the contest! Beautiful pictures, as usual 😉

  4. Megan May 3, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    Good luck! I made these as well, but I had so many things to post this week that I’m not posting them til Friday. 🙂

  5. Emily @ A Cambridge Story May 3, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    Want these now! If it’s in Cooks Illustrated, it must be perfect 😉

  6. emily @ the happy home May 3, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    yum! the last few chocolate chip cookies i’ve tried have been way too crispy. glad to hear these are appropriately gooey on the inside!

  7. Matep May 4, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    I made these cookies last week and they are every bit as outstanding as they sound. I followed the Cook’s Illustrated recipe to a T and it paid off big time. Chewy, delicious cookies that tasted slightly like toffee, but mostly tasted thoroughly authentic. I did use toasted walnuts and felt like they only added to the complexity and richness of the flavors, although they certainly weren’t essential. After years of making cookies with vegetable shortening, I am happy to have found an easy, simple recipe for my favorite type of cookie!

  8. Melissa May 5, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    Your cookies look delicious! I can’t wait to try this recipe myself tonight!

  9. Kristina Vanni May 8, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

    I am always on the lookout for the ultimate chocolate chip cookie recipe. I thought I had found it, but now I am convinced I need to try this version!

    Thanks so much for introducing us to your blog! Just added you to our blogroll…feel free to add The Daily Dish to yours 🙂 http://www.betterrecipes.com/blogs/daily-dish/ I look forward to reading more of your stories and recipes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. $19 for Four Bags of Crumb-Cake Cookies from Kenny’s Krumbs ($34 Value) » Get your daily Groupon deals - May 4, 2011

    […] Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies […]

  2. $19 for Four Bags of Crumb-Cake Cookies from Kenny’s Krumbs ($34 Value) - Koream Deals - May 4, 2011

    […] Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies […]

  3. $8 for $16 Worth of Cookies at Cookie Cart - Daily Couponds - May 10, 2011

    […] Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies […]

  4. Food Therapy from Tales From a Kitchen Misfit | Public Radio Kitchen - May 23, 2011

    […] Food Therapy delivers a strong punch of much needed Feel-Good, thanks to this recipe for a ‘Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookie’ from Amanda at Tales From a Kitchen Misfit. Her recipe calls for brown butter as an […]

Leave a Reply

