Cupcake Camp 2011

17 Apr

Last week I had the AWESOME opportunity to head over to Cupcake Camp at Arts at the Armory in Somerville on Wednesday. Cupcake Camp is a chance for people of all ages to gather in love of cupcakes. Professionals and amateurs alike get to show their creativity when it comes to lots of sugar.

Cupcake Camp also raised more than $2300 for Lovin’ Spoonfuls, an organization that takes foods that would otherwise be thrown away and gives them to those who need it most. It’s a GREAT organization and I was happy to support it.

The view of Cupcake Camp!

I was lucky to get in before the doors opened at 7PM and before mayhem ensued. People sure do LOVE their cupcakes and the line out the door and around the corner in the rain proved it.

I mean, how could you NOT love cupcakes? I ate so many cupcakes that I swore off cupcakes for the next year (Oh wait, I had a cupcake yesterday, nevermind). I really loved the cupcakes from Cupcake Mojo. I tried the orange creamsicle, complete with one of those candied oranges. LOVED IT!

Over at Treat Cupcake Bar, it was make your own cupcakes! With a base cupcake of chocolate, vanilla or swirl, and choice of 3 frostings and loads of toppings, people were only limited by their imaginations. I went simple with a swirl cupcake with cheesecake frosting and chocolate covered pretzels. They incorporated the toppings with the frosting Cold Stone Creamery style, and it was really tasty!

My good friend Barbara Ann from Biba’s Baked Goods  rocked the vegan cupcakes. I have tried a MANY of her cupcakes before, and they are all magnificent, and this time I went for a chocolate cupcake with chocolate ganache on top with some vanilla frosting in the center. Kind of like a hostess cupcake but 1000000000x better.

Mixx bakery had a great assortment of cupcakes. I had my eyes on the Salted Caramel, but I was so distracted from the THOUSANDS of cupcakes, that they ran out before I could try it. Drats! Guess I’ll just have to grab an order of them soon!

Whole Foods River Street featured some two bite cupcakes and some bigger decorative cupcakes. Always nice to see them!

Party Favors from Brookline had a great assortment of different flavors. I think I was in cupcake overload and just couldn’t stomach the larger cupcakes from them! But I have tasted their cupcakes before and they are good!

King Arthur Flour sponsored the event and they had a table up at the front where they were demoing how to decorate your cupcakes for Easter! It was very fun and whimsical, and the creations made were great!

The cutest cupcake in the world award went to JannaBee’s. These banana nut mini cuppycakes as they called them were delicious! And the bee on top was so cute, I almost didn’t want to eat it. Almost.

The amateur bakers brought it just as much as the professionals. Cara from Cara’s Cravings made some AMAZING Bailey’s Mint Chocolate Chip Mini Cupcakes. The mini cupcakes were the way to go. Unless you came with someone, or were feeding your friends that were helping out the leftovers that you couldn’t finish, it was REALLY hard to eat all of the full sized cupcakes. Not that they weren’t delicious, they were just BIG.

Jen from Beantown Baker made Frito cupcakes and cookie dough cupcakes. I didn’t try the cookie dough cupcakes but I DID try the Frito Cupcakes. These were PHENOMENAL. Chocolate cupcake, filled with peanut butter and fritos. Crunchy, salty, sugary, good. One of my favorites of the night.

A view of the amateurs side

I was really impressed with EVERYTHING. I’m totally doing this next year. Now just what to make?

So who was the mastermind behind Cupcake Camp? Well it was Liz of Free Food Boston! She’s pictured on the right with Ashley Stanley of Lovin’ Spoonfuls.  She did such an amazing job with this event. Way to go Liz!

And in case you wanted to know how successful Cupcake Camp was, this is what some of the areas looked like just an HOUR after the doors opened.

And….

If that’s not success, I don’t know what is. So grateful to have been able to come to Cupcake Camp! Can’t wait for next year!!

9 Responses to “Cupcake Camp 2011”

  1. Jen @ BeantownBaker.com April 17, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    Great writeup – it was so nice to see you the other day. Thanks for helping us clean up!

  2. Megan April 17, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    Nice meeting you at CupcakeCamp!

  3. Elizabeth April 17, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    Thanks so much for coming Amanda! It was great seeing you! One of my faves were the Bee cupcakes. They were so good!

  4. Megan April 18, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    SO many cupcakes–!! Sad I missed out on this, but looks like you had a blast! 🙂

  5. Elina (Healthy and Sane) April 18, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    Omg, could the bee cupcake be any cuter? Love.
    I’m so sad I ended up missing the event. Looks like cupcake heaven 🙂
    PS – It was really nice meeting you last week at Cara’s!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. CupcakeCamp Boston 2011 | Boston Rookie - April 18, 2011

    […] Kitchenmisfit […]

  2. Making cupcakes « After the Ecstasy, the Laundry . . . - April 22, 2011

    […] Cupcake Camp 2011 (kitchenmisfit.wordpress.com) […]

  3. 51% off Gourmet Cupcakes Delivered to Your Door - Deals2Inbox - May 9, 2011

    […] Cupcake Camp 2011 […]

Leave a Reply

