Cooking for a Cause 2011!

7 Apr

Last Friday I had the amazing opportunity to attend Cooking for a Cause thanks to Brian from A Thought for Food. I won his Twitter giveaway and was shocked and amazed that I won!!

I got even more excited when Megan won tickets as well and brought Ashley along.

Cooking for a Cause benefits the East End House which is a:

not-for-profit, multi-service community center and social service agency with an on-going commitment to a diverse population, providing programs and services to strengthen family and community. East End House is the center of community life, a safe haven welcoming, linking, and collaborating with individuals of all ages, their families, businesses, and community institutions to create innovative programs in pursuit of excellence on a sound fiscal basis. (Taken straight from the website)

This is definitely a great great cause so I was happy to be a part of it!

The lineup of restaurants that participated are staggering. Craigie on Main. East Coast Grill. Rialto. Gargoyles on the Square. Chez Henri. EVOO. I could go on for days! It was a little overwhelming when I walked in. Just where do I start?!?!

I swear I should have taken notes because I can hardly remember everything I ate and where it was from. But believe me, it was delicious!

And now, THE FOOD!

Buckwheat noodles with duck confit with cracklings from Craigie on Main. I think I just died and went to heaven.

Perfectly marinated steak with an amazing pork dumpling and slaw from K.O. Prime. I wanted to eat 8 of these.

Taza Chocolate. I ate approximately 10 pieces of chocolate. LOVE.

Lamb burgers with a tzatziki like sauce. Don’t ask me to remember which restaurant it was from. I know, bad blogger! But WHOEVER YOU ARE, it was delicious. (Edit: Just found out that these babies were from Chef Paul Turano from Tryst! Loved them!)

Light as air gnocchi with bacon from Aura.

A hard boiled egg wrapped in chorizo!?!?!? Oh Garden at the Cellar, I love you.

Mini cupcakes from Kickass Cupcakes. I had a smores cupcake. Usually I’m not really a big fan of Kickass, but these were good.

Country pate with rosemary infused concord grape jelly, bread and butter pickles, whole grain mustard, on a baguette from EVOO. I think this was literally my favorite dish. Every single item on that plate I loved. LOVED IT!

Gargoyles on the Square came in a close second. Soft boiled egg with bacon on top and and olive oil basil thing that was amazing. And creamy.

There were some other amazing food as well. Spicy tacos from East Coast Grill. Melt in your mouth pork meatballs from Dante. So light it should probably be illegal gnocchi from Rialto. Decadent brownies from Dancing Deer Company (I had two).

PLUS, Billy Costa was the master of ceremonies for the live auction. And man, if I didn’t owe thousands upon thousands of dollars to Sallie Mae, I totally would have bid on some of the items. AMAZING!

An amazing event overall and I was so happy to be able to attend and support this amazing cause!

4 Responses to “Cooking for a Cause 2011!”

  1. Megan April 7, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    amazing amazing amazing indeed!!! When can we attend more classy events like this?? 😉

  2. Emily @ A Cambridge Story April 7, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    what a cool event! doesn’t hurt that the food looks out of this world 🙂

  3. Megan April 7, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    Sounds like an amazing event with amazing food. The Craigie on Main dish would be right up my alley. And I’m not usually a fan of Kick*ss either… glad you got some good cupcakes that night.

  4. Elizabeth April 8, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    It was so nice seeing you there! It was a really lovely event. The gnocchi from Aura (thanks for the pic!) was my fave.

Leave a Reply

