Quinoa “Meat” Balls

29 Mar

When I saw that Katie over at the Small Boston Kitchen post a recipe for Quinoa “Meat” balls I immediately added it to my MUST MAKE NOW list.

And almost two months later here we are (Ahem, that is quick for me).

Quinoa is very quickly becoming a favorite food of mine. Quinoa is one of the healthiest foods you can have, and it packs a TON of protein plus it tastes so damn good. Quinoa has pretty much replaced a lot of the grain type food that we eat (most commonly being couscous).

Quinoa is versatile, you can pretty much have it for breakfast, lunch, dinner AND dessert. I mean, you can’t really say that for a lot of foods. Except for maybe cookies….

One bite of these delicious quinoa “meat” balls and you might not EVER go back to actual meatballs.

Ok, maybe sometimes….

Just trust me on this one, make these babies AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

Quinoa “Meat” Balls

Adapted from The Small Boston Kitchen

  • 1 cup cooked quinoa (I cooked it in my rice cooker, AMAZING I tell you!)
  • 6 crimini mushrooms, diced
  • 1/2 bag fresh spinach
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 1 yellow pepper, diced
  • 1 egg
  • 8-10 macadamia nuts, roughly chopped
  • 1 tbsp oregano
  • 1 tbsp rosemary
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a saute pan, coat with olive oil and cook mushrooms, onion, and peppers until softened. Set aside and in the same pan cook the spinach until slightly wilted.

In a big bowl combine all the ingredients until they come together. Form into balls and place in a parchment lined baking sheet. Place into a 400 degree oven and bake for about 15-20 minutes.

Serve with spaghetti, in a sandwich, or just eat them as a snack!

11 Responses to “Quinoa “Meat” Balls”

  1. Megan March 29, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    I saw these on Katie’s blog and have been wanting to make them as well. I’m even more behind than you! They look delicious. Love quinoa!

  2. Elizabeth March 30, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    Interesting use of macadamia nuts. I would probably love these.

  3. Merut March 30, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    I challenge you to make quinoa cookies. I think it would be an interesting experiment. No seriously though, these meatballs are genius! I’ve made quinoa burgers, but never meatballs. I will definitely be trying these. Thanks.

    • kitchenmisfit March 30, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

      I might take you up on that offer! I bet it could be done and done deliciously!

  4. christellar April 4, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    this is SO CLEVER! bravo

  5. Lauren at Keep It Sweet April 4, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    These look so good! What a great use of quinoa!

  6. saidsally April 5, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    But I don’t like peppers! Any suggestions for swaps? Maybe zucchini? Shredded carrot? Too moist maybe… Um… just leave them out?

    • kitchenmisfit April 5, 2011 at 6:36 am #

      I think the recipe is very generous when it comes to substitutions. I think as long as you shred the carrots and zucchini you should be fine!

  7. Jen April 18, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    I made these last night – the husband & I loved them. I used finely chopped walnuts (no macadamias in the house). I served as a side with spaghetti & marinara, but next time I think I will shape into patties and use as a main course with a couple of side dishes.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Yellow Chicken Curry Over Quinoa - April 11, 2011

    […] Quinoa “Meat” Balls (kitchenmisfit.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

