Fly Away to San Francisco: Part 5

22 Mar

We’re going to skip ahead to our last full day in San Francisco. Why? I don’t need to tell you why, it’s my blog and I’ll do what I want!

…Just kidding.

Anyway, like I was saying, our last day in San Francisco was spent on the other side of the Bay in Berkeley. We took the BART from downtown and as soon as I came above ground I thought I was back on the East Coast. In fact, I swore I was in Cambridge, Central Square to be exact. And then Harvard. And maybe some Porter and definitely a splash of Davis thrown in for good measure.

It was kind of amazing and scary all at the same time.

The next time we come to the West Coast, I plan on spending a lot more time in Berkeley. So many amazing sounding restaurants stretched before us. Coffee shops galore. Crunchy granola. Lots of crunchy granola.

For lunch we decided to stop at Cheeseboard, which was highly recommended to us by two of our local friends.

Cheeseboard is a co-op and their menu is tiny. One pizza special. One dessert special. One salad special. $3 beers. That’s it. A whole pizza will set you back $20 and it feeds between 2-4 people. They list their pizza specials on their website so you know what they are going to have for the week.

The special for this particular day was red bell pepper, onions, mozzarella, feta, kalamata olive tapenade, garlic oil, and italian parsley. They only serve white pizza, so no sauce. But don’t worry, it doesn’t need it.

The pizza was pretty freaking amazing. I loved the saltiness of the olives with the stringiness of the cheese. The sauce was not missed at all. It was a huge burst of flavor in my mouth. There wasn’t much talking while we consumed our pizza.

But that’s ok! Because we got to listen to one of the live bands that plays there every day! It was a beautiful day outside, so the windows were open and there were tables outside.

Cheeseboard was definitely a great finish to our stay in San Francisco and makes me itching to come back to explore the awesomeness of Berkeley!

Cheeseboard Pizza on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Fly Away to San Francisco: Part 5”

  1. Elizabeth March 22, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    My cousins live in Berkeley so I’ve spent a considerable amount of time there. Sometimes I like it better than SF. SO much good food.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. $10 for $20 Worth of Pizzas, Gyros, Subs, and More at Atlanta Pizza & Gyro in Conyers » Get your daily Groupon deals - March 24, 2011

    […] Fly Away to San Francisco: Part 5 […]

Leave a Reply

