Boston Bruncher’s Dine & Dash!

17 Mar

For March’s Boston Brunchers a bunch of us decided to sign up for the Ras Na hEireann 5K race in Davis Square Somerville. After that, we would be brunching at Gargoyles on the Square. I was pumped for two reasons. #1 I love races and #2 I have been DYING to try Gargoyles Disco Brunch. So it was absolutely perfect.

The race itself was great, and filled with thousands of people, some dressed in just shorts (too cold!), others dressed in their greenest finery. I managed to finish in 27:02 (a personal best for me!) and nommed on a snack from Diesel Cafe while waiting for everyone to finish the race. Then, it was off to brunch!!

Since the rest of the bars in Davis were packed to the brims we decided to head over to Gargoyles early. They let us hang out at the bar area until our table was ready. The bartender that morning was fantastic! (Wish I remembered her name). For my drink I had a coffee with Irish Cream since I hadn’t had any coffee yet. It was delicious! And the coffee was strong! I also tried some of Renee’s bloody mary. Now, I am no bloody mary drinker but this was AMAZING. They make their own in house gazpacho infused vodka, and it literally tasted like soup and DIDN’T taste like alcohol. And I KNOW there was alcohol because I saw her pour it in. That drink is dangerous.

We finally sat down and it was like a party was going on. Disco ball, flashing lights, glow bracelets, and even a hot pink boa. Oh, and of course the seventies music. And it was REALLY dark.

We all decided to split a couple of orders of their homemade donuts. These babies were light fluffy balls of cinnamon and fried goodness. Pillows of air covered in cinnamon sugar. Served with a cream sauce on the side. I could have eaten 5 of them. But I didn’t.

Instead I saved room for the pretzel pancakes that were served with peanut butter fluff and two sausage patties. The pancakes didn’t scream PRETZEL, but that’s ok, it was the right combination of sweet and salty and peanuts. The sausage patty was pretty tasty too. I also managed to grab a couple of waffle fries, and I gave them a big thumbs up.

The only downside of the party? Once we sat down at our table we were ignored for at least 20 minutes. I didn’t mind too much, as I was surrounded by party music and friends, but it was a little off putting. We were told that they were a little backed up and that was why there was a long wait, but it was still off putting.

If you haven’t tried the disco brunch at Gargoyles you need to try it ASAP!

Oh, and you are probably wondering by now why there are no pictures? It’s because it was a homework assignment from Boston Food Bloggers. But don’t worry, if you want to check out pictures of the brunch, you can head over to some of the other bloggers that came!

Gargoyles on the Square on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Boston Bruncher’s Dine & Dash!”

  1. Megan March 17, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    I have got to get over there to try some of those pancakes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dash & Dine with Boston Brunchers! – Tales from a Kitchen Misfit | Boston Brunchers - March 17, 2011

    […] View my full recap here! […]

Leave a Reply

