Fly Away to San Francisco: Part 4

13 Mar

Friday was one of my favorite days in San Francisco. Why?!

We got to visit the Ferry Building!! You have to no idea how excited I was to go here. And how INCREDIBLY jealous I am of all San Franciscoians that get to go to this place EVERY.DAY. I’ll let the pictures do the talking.

Pig Parts?!?! Sign me up!

Meat in a cup. GENIUS!

Hanging salami and other delectables

A store dedicated to mushrooms?!

Delicious, delicious mushrooms

Where's a meat store without a cheese store?

Crabs? Yes please

I had a VERY hard time picking a place to go for breakfast. We definitely wanted to go a bit on the lighter side so we decided to head to Frog Hollow Farm.

I really loved this place! Their coffee was amazing and they had homemade jam. Hubby wouldn’t let me get any which made me sad.

I had one of the best mocha lattes I’ve ever had EVER.

We also had a delicious yogurt, granola and fruit parfait. All the fruit came from Frog Hollow Farm and it included some blood oranges that were fantastic!

We also shared a gigantic slice of apple crisp. It basically cancelled out the healthy parfait we had. It was good. It was buttery. It was flaky. And it tasted of fresh apples.

I wanted to stay at the Ferry Building ALL.DAY. But Joe wouldn’t let me 😦 We ended up getting some delicious salami and cheese from one of the stores and had that along with the bread we bought at Boudin Bakery for a delicious snack while in Lake Tahoe!

You can’t come to San Francisco WITHOUT coming to the Ferry Building. We missed out on the HUGE farmer’s market they have, but if you can make it on a Tuesday, Thursday or Saturday then I would HIGHLY recommend it!

 

Frog Hollow Farm on Urbanspoon

4 Responses to “Fly Away to San Francisco: Part 4”

  1. Elizabeth March 13, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    Oh the ferry building. Could you imagine if we had something like it in Boston?

  2. Megan March 13, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    I dream about going there! Supposedly the Boston Public Market is going to be modeled after it… we can only hope, right?

    • mollyparr March 14, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

      I actually met someone from the Boston Public Market tonight who said they hoped it would NOT be like Ferry. Apparently Ferry is privately-owned, and the vendors are not all local and sustainable. BPM is hoping to be publicly owned and run, and host much more locally-sourced participants.

  3. April March 22, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    Oooh, I went to San Fran for a week and saw all those stores – there wasn’t enough room in my tummy for all the food…..*drool*

Leave a Reply

