Not Your Average Chocolate Chip Cookie

22 Feb

A chocolate chip cookie with olive oil??????? Wait, and there isn’t any butter in it?? Are you sure there shouldn’t be butter?  Will they even TASTE good??

Yeah, that’s what I thought when I first read about these cookies that replaced the butter with olive oil. I was skeptical at first, but then I tried one of these suckers and was immediately sold.

Granted, these will NOT by any means replaced a good old fashioned chocolate chip cookie, but it’s nice to have once in a while. The addition of the olive oil makes for a crispy cookie, not a chewy soft cookie, but that’s ok! And you can certainly taste the olive oil, but in a pleasant way.

So, if you are looking for a non-traditional chocolate chip cookie and dare I say, maybe a healthier cookie? (I did the Weight Watchers comparison and it shaved off a point or two for each cookie), then I would give these a try.

Not Your Average Chocolate Chip Cookie

As found on baking = love

  • 2 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1-2 cups chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 baking trays with parchment paper.

Sift flour, baking soda and salt in a bowl and set aside. In a big bowl, beat eggs till frothy.  Add olive oil and vanilla and beat until completely mixed.  Add sugars and mix thoroughly. Slowly add in flour mixture a little at a time and mix in with a knife.  Stir in the chocolate chips.  Roll into tablespoon sized balls and place 1 inch apart on the baking tray.  Flatten a tiny bit with a fork or just with your fingers.

Bake for 16 – 18 minutes until lightly golden brown.  Allow to cool a little on the tray before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

—-

Well loyal readers, with this post I will be out of commission for the next week because I will be in SAN FRANCISCO!!!! Don’t fret, I will take a million pictures and share them all with you when I get back. But don’t worry! You’ll still get your fill of Kitchen Misfit! I have a couple of guest posts that I am REALLY excited about, plus a Daring Baker’s post so it’ll be like I’m still here! Ta Ta for now!

3 Responses to “Not Your Average Chocolate Chip Cookie”

  1. Megan February 22, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    Whaaat? I’m intrigued! Once when I was a kid I mistakenly made brownies with olive oil instead of vegetable oil and strongly disliked them. But I’m going to trust you on this one!

    Also, have fun in San Fran! 🙂

  2. Megan February 22, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    The cookies sound interesting. I haven’t really baked with olive oil. Have fun in San Fran!

  3. Elizabeth February 22, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    I experimented a fair amount with olive oil baking back when I was vegan. But I never made them with both oil and eggs. I really want to try this.

Leave a Reply

