Restaurant Review: Wagamama

17 Feb

I feel like Wagamama has some kind of cult like following all over the world. People just love Wagamama. Every time I’ve gone to a Wagamama, whether it is in Harvard Square or Faneuil Hall it’s always PACKED. I just don’t get it!

I mean, let’s be honest here, Wagamama is ok but it’s not like the end all be all of noodle dishes. Yes, I enjoy that everything is freshly made and that the food comes out when it’s ready and doesn’t sit under a heat lamp for 20 minutes (I wish more restaurants did this), but every time I go I feel like I’m having just a mediocre meal.

In case you are unaware of how Wagamama works, they basically write this equation on your paper mat of what you’ve ordered. I don’t know how they make sense of this, but it seems to work.

For our appetizer (which actually came AFTER our meals came) we went with the Wagamama Glazed Ribs. I enjoyed these a lot, the meat was very tender (fall off the bone even!) and had the right amount of sauce. Definitely the highlight of the meal!

For my meal I had the chicken chili ramen. It was pretty tasty, but I wish there were more veggies and accoutrements included. This reminded me a lot of Pho, except that it was more expensive and not as flavorful. Granted, I liked it, but I wasn’t over the moon about it. The hubby basically got the same dish but without the spice.

Our particular table was great for people watching (And people attempting to park watching) as it looked out on the fringe of Harvard Square.

The service was less than stellar. After our meal was served our waiter basically forgot about us. And not to mention it took probably about 20 minutes for us to get the bill. Granted, we weren’t in a hurry, but it was still kind of annoying!

So the verdict on Wagamama? If your trying to introduce yourself to the world of noodle dishes then come here. If you are bringing your country bumpkin family to the big city and want to introduce them to something “exotic” come here. If you’re in the mood for a chain restaurant and don’t feel like going down the street to Uno’s, come here.

If you want delicious (and cheap) noodles or something a little more authentic, head some where else.

Wagamama on Urbanspoon

9 Responses to “Restaurant Review: Wagamama”

  1. iamahoneybee February 17, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    my office designed that one. the ceiling is actually wood flooring. that’s all I can remember about it. Aside from the red tile (at Fan Hall loc) is called lipstick red.

    I like some of their stuff but since I work just as close to Chinatown I typically head there instead.

  2. Elizabeth February 17, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    I tried Wagamama for the first time a few months ago and I too wasn’t thrilled. Totally agreed.

  3. Rebel mel February 17, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    Istill have yet to try wagamama, but I actually walked past the one in harvard the other day and ALMOST wanted to go in. If I didn’t have visions of raspberry margaritas from border cafe dancing in my head, I may have!

  4. Emily @ A Cambridge Story February 17, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    I’ve heard similar reviews so I haven’t been rushing to try Wagamama. I do love noodles, however, so I’ll probably end up going at some point. Bad service makes me really grumpy though!

  5. Megan February 17, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Good to know! I get noodle cravings and think about going there sometimes, but I wasn’t sure what it would be like. It always seems so confusing from the outside. I’d be interested to see if people have recommendations for more authentic places.

  6. mollyparr February 18, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    There’s exactly one dish on the menu at Wagamama that I enjoy. One. So happy to read an honest review of a mediocre restaurant.

    • Meesh February 18, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

      I agree too! I don’t understand why people like it at all. I also remember getting my app after my meal, totally unacceptable.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Restaurant Review: Wagamama « Tales From A Kitchen Misfit | TOPCOOKINGREVIEW.COM - February 17, 2011

    […] the rest here: Restaurant Review: Wagamama « Tales From A Kitchen Misfit Uncategorized comes-out, freshly-made, heat-lamp, sit-under, […]

  2. Wagamama @ the Pru « Tales From A Kitchen Misfit - July 13, 2011

    […] unveiling. Now, if you read this blog at all, you know that I’ve shared my experience about Wagamama, but who am I to turn down free food and a chance to mingle with some wonderful food […]

Leave a Reply

