Boston Brunchers @ Dorado Tacos & Cemitas

10 Feb

I have been wanting to go to Dorado Tacos & Cemitas ever since they opened in July of 2009 (Side note: I totally thought they opened in 2010, how sad is that?) So when I saw that the Boston Brunchers (Headed by Renee over at Eat.Live.Blog) were going to have their February gathering their, I pounced, fast.

Dorado is pretty tiny, but the wonderful rainbow of colors and the huge windows make it seem much bigger. But pretty much all 16 of us Brunchers took over the entire restaurant. It’s a good thing they opened early for us.

It was a toss up on whether I wanted coffee or hot chocolate this particular morning, but needless to say caffeine won this time. I was really tempted to ask for half coffee and half hot chocolate though.

There was pretty much no question on what I would be enjoying this fine Sunday morning. HUEVOS RANCHEROS. I had been salivating over them since I had signed up for the brunch. I mean, just look at how amazingly beautiful they look? And I wish I could have taken a picture of this, but almost all of the other Brunchers got the rancheros. That’s just how awesome they are.

I’d like to talk about these patatas bravas for a moment. Now, I am usually a hash brown kind of gal, but these crispy potatoes were pretty amazing. And that spicy tomato sauce? I would like a carton of that please. I almost licked the plate clean that sauce was so good.

But let’s go back to the huevos rancheros, shall we? They had a nice spiciness to it, and the eggs were perfectly runny. And the queso fresco? Pretty much made the dish. I could have eaten 4 more plates of these, but as I am trying not to gain any more weight, I declined.

I checked into Dorado via my Yelp app and was rewarded with a FREE agua fresca. Let me tell you, attempting to drink hot coffee after consuming a spicy meal is not advised. I went with the hibiscus tea variety, since I’m not a huge fan of cucumber melon. I mean, I like the smell, but not the taste. The hibiscus was awesome and quenched my thirst amazingly.

Oh, and did I mention I got all this deliciousness for less than $10? Crazy, I know.

Dorado, I’ll be back.

Dorado Tacos & Cemitas on Urbanspoon

8 Responses to “Boston Brunchers @ Dorado Tacos & Cemitas”

  1. Elizabeth February 10, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    I never knew about checking in with the Yelp app! thanks for the tip!

  2. A Boston Food Diary February 10, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    Mmmmm I am LOVING all your reviews of Dorado- it’s making me SERIOUSLY crave it! YUM!

    • Meesh February 10, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

      I think im going to have TACOs for dinner. Ive been on a MExican kick ever since Dorado!

  3. Megan February 11, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    So glad I got to sit next to you at the brunch! Yummm 🙂 Great pics and great recap!

  4. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic February 12, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    Yuummm eggs with queso fresco sounds awesome. I’ve been to Dorado multiple times but never for brunch. Must check out their brunch soon!

    • Megan February 13, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

      I’m usually a hash brown kind of girl too but I do love patatas bravas!

  5. pixelatedcrumb February 16, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    I had no idea they had brunch! I know what I’m doing this weekend! I loooove their tacos.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Brunching for Huevos Rancheros – Tales from a Kitchen Misfit | Boston Brunchers - February 11, 2011

    […] View my full recap here. […]

Leave a Reply

