Asian Black Bean Burger

8 Feb

Ever since I started back up on Weight Watchers, it’s been a little hard on the husband. I told him that I was going to limit baking to once every two weeks and I think he might have looked at me like I just told him Christmas was cancelled. I told him no ifs ands or buts about it.

I also told him that we would have to start eating better. The days of Stove Top Mac & Cheese were over (unless it’s Thursday night and I’ve already weighed in for the week!). I introduced him to such things as quinoa and more vegetarian meals, including this one!

“A veggie burger? Is that going to be enough?” My husband quipped. I told him to eat more edameme.

This was pretty simple to throw together, and is wildly interchangeable. I was originally going to put some broccoli and carrots but then realized the ones I had in the fridge had a funny smell to them. Whoops!

You need to make this. And then you need to slather it in Sriracha sauce and hoisin sauce and maybe some extra soy sauce because you’re feeling frisky. Maybe slap some sriracha on your edamame. Yeah, I went there.

Asian Black Bean Burger

  • 1  can black beans
  • 2 cups fresh spinach
  • 1 tbsp grated fresh ginger
  • 1 clove garlic, smashed
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1/2 cup shredded cabbage
  • 1/2 medium red onion
  • 1 tbsp toasted sesame ginger seeds
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • Peanut Oil, for pan

In a food processor combine all ingredients. You may have to put the spinach in a little at a time until it’s properly chopped up. If you like your burgers on the chunkier side, pulse until it’s to your consistency.

In a medium saute pan, heat the peanut oil. The mixture will be slightly wet, if you prefer, you can refrigerate for a half hour to firm up the batter.

Form into patties and pan fry for about 4-5 minutes per side.

I served mine with some hoisin and sriracha sauce, on a sesame seed bun. I had some leftover fontina cheese that I melted for the top. Then I served it with a heaping pile of edamame.

5 Responses to “Asian Black Bean Burger”

  1. Elizabeth February 8, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    Being a non meat eater, I have tried my hand at a fair number of bean burgers. I love the flavors in this, so cool that it has cabbage in it.

  2. Emily @ A Cambridge Story February 8, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    I’m happy to have stumbled upon another Boston food blog — and, as someone trying to eat less meat, love the idea of this ‘burger’. I wonder if my husband could be convinced to eat it, too 🙂

    • kitchenmisfit February 8, 2011 at 10:58 am #

      Thanks! My husband was skeptical but he really liked it!

  3. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic February 8, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    Love anything with sriracha and Asian-inspired food! This sounds delicious!

  4. Megan February 8, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    yum yum yum YUM. I am a huge fan of bean burgers–these sound so delicious!

Leave a Reply

