Soup Swap!

6 Feb

One of my favorite things about blogging is having the chance to meet people who are just as geeked out about food as I am. It makes me feel better about myself and that I am not crazy despite the weird looks my husband gives me sometimes. Back at the Boston Food Bloggers Launch party I met a lot of fabulous bloggers.

Three of those fabulous bloggers were (from left to right) Ashley from Cooking for 1, Liz from Eating Places, and Megan from Cooking Whims. While talking we all thought it would be a great idea to have a soup swap, since January is National Soup Swap Month. So the last weekend in January, we all trekked out to Salem to eat and talk about food!

Along with each of us making a soup, we also brought something else, whether it be dessert, salad, bread, or fruit.

We got to Ashley’s house and was greeted by an awesome salad display, completed with homemade croutons.

I supplied the bread, which let-me-tell-you, was not the first bread on my list. I wanted to make a baguette, but forgot and by the time I remembered I couldn’t make it, then I wanted to make a semolina bread, but couldn’t find any durum wheat, and so finally settled on this Italian loaf from the King Arthur Flour website. It rose too far out and not high enough, but it was still tasty.

I also brought along some cheese to go with the bread and soups.

The soups, starting at the top and going clockwise, are Megan’s Roasted Garlic Soup, my French Onion Soup, Liz’s Mushroom Barley Soup, and Ashley’s Butternut Squash Soup. They were all fantastic in case you were wondering.

Megan provided the dessert, which was an insanely decadent peanut butter chocolate torte. It was out of this world delicious. My husband was sad when he finished the leftovers.

We had such a fantastic time, eating, drinking (mimosas!) and talking. We had such a fabulous time we are thinking of making it a monthly tradition!

3 Responses to “Soup Swap!”

  1. Elizabeth February 6, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    The entire meal is making me salivate. I don’t know if I’ve ever seen homemade semolina bread. So cool.

  2. Kelsey@KAF February 9, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    I did not know January was national Soup month. What a great idea to have a soup swap! I’ve currently been enjoying a Quinoa White Bean Soup with Parmesan – very hearty.

    I’m sorry your bread didn’t turn out as well as you would’ve liked. If you try it again give the King Arthur Flour bakers a call at 800.827.6836 to chat about methods. We love to talk about baking :)- kelsey@KAF

  3. shoshana February 16, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    Totally forgot about national soup month! I love butternut squash soup and my favorite is french onion soup – my recipe is an adaption of The Pioneer Woman’s tasty recipe.
    Love your blog by the way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

