Restaurant Review: Tasty Burger

3 Feb

Did you know that Tasty Burger was named after the movie Pulp Fiction? Even one of the burgers pays homage to the movie, the Big Kahuna Burger. If you don’t remember which part of the movie it’s this part:

Jules: Hey kids! How you boys doin’?
[to man laying on the couch]
Jules: Hey, keep chillin’. You know who we are? We’re associates of your business partner Marsellus Wallace. You do remember your business partner don’t you? Let me take a wild guess here. You’re Brett, right?
Brett: Yeah.
Jules: I thought so. You remember your business partner Marsellus Wallace, don’t you, Brett?
Brett: Yeah, yeah, I remember him.
Jules: Good. Looks like me an Vincent caught you boys at breakfast. Sorry about that. Whatcha havin’?
Brett: Hamburgers.
Jules: Hamburgers! The cornerstone of any nutritious breakfast. What kind of hamburgers?
Brett: Ch-cheeseburgers.
Jules: No, no no, where’d you get ’em? McDonalds? Wendy’s? Jack in the Box? Where?
Brett: Big Kahuna Burger.
Jules: Big Kahuna Burger. That’s that Hawaiian burger joint. I hear they got some tasty burgers. I ain’t never had one myself. How are they?
Brett: They’re good.
Jules: Mind if I try one of yours? This is yours here, right?
[Picks up burger and takes a bite]
Jules: Mmm-mmmm. That is a tasty burger. Vincent, ever have a Big Kahuna Burger?
[Vincent shakes his head]
Jules: Wanna bite? They’re real tasty.

Ok, so I don’t actually know if Tasty Burger is a homage to Pulp Fiction, but that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

The location of Tasty Burger is in a former garage/gas station/shop. The inside is really open, thanks to the huge windows. There’s a pool table in the corner, and they play cartoon network on one of the TVs. They have a pretty good selection of beer and wine, and for reasonable prices. They even have a college student special, which I believe is a cheeseburger, fries and a PBR for something like $10.

I really wanted to try one of their tasty shakes, but decided to be good and instead went with a Raspberry Lime-Rickey ($2.50).

It was very refreshing, and went great with my burger. Hubby and I decided to share some fries with sausage gravy ($5.00).

These.Were.FABULOUS. You could tell they were hand cut, because they were crunchy and perfectly fried. The sausage gravy? Oh my goodness gracious. Nice chunks of sausage and creamy gravy. It was just amazing.

Hubby got the Zum Zum Hog Dog ($8.00) which was served with mustard and sauerkraut. It was seriously the BIGGEST hot dog I have ever seen. And it was also really tasty. 100% beef and the kraut was slightly tangy and the mustard coplimented the hot dog very well. Needless to say, there were leftovers.

I got the Big Kahuna Burger, because I love Pulp Fiction. When you get a burger, you have a choice of an all beef patty, turket burger, or veggie burger. I went with the stadard beef burger, and it was served with a tangy teriyaki sauce with grilled pineapple and onions. I added a little (ok, a lot) of Sriracha sauce and basically consumed the whole burger in about 5 minutes. It was very juicy and the teriyaki sauce was delicious and not too sweet.

We opted out of dessert this time around because we were absolutely stuffed. But next time I go, I’ve definitely going for a shake! If you haven’t checked out Tasty Burger, DO IT NOW!

Tasty Burger on Urbanspoon

8 Responses to “Restaurant Review: Tasty Burger”

  1. Rebel mel February 3, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    I’ve seen this place plenty of times, but never eaten there! Everything looks fantastic. I’ll have to convince the hubs to take me sometime 🙂

  2. Meesh February 3, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    wow! very nice. i just learned so much. i didn’t even know they served beer at this spot. now ill definitely have to check it out. im actually going to fenway tonight for the Seamless Web event, maybe ill go play pool after 😀

  3. Elizabeth February 3, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    Those fries do look good. I should check if they do veggie burgers. Or milkshakes, b/c really, I’d take that over a veggie burger.

    • kitchenmisfit February 3, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

      They have veggie burgers! And I am totally having their shakes next time!

  4. A Boston Food Diary February 4, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    WOW- I have heard nothing but bad reviews about Tasty Burger- and some pretty strong “stay aways”. So glad to hear a positive review-makes me want to try it even more 🙂

    • kitchenmisfit February 4, 2011 at 10:20 am #

      Not sure why there is so much hate. It’s cheap, it’s good, and it’s FUN! What’s not to like???

  5. mollyparr February 4, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    I actually had the veggie burger when I was there. The bun completely fell apart and I ended up needing a fork. But the fries were really terrific! Slippery floors, though. It’s a lawsuit waiting to happen.

  6. Megan February 4, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    Mmmm… sausage gravy! Must get over there soon!

Leave a Reply

