French Onion Soup

1 Feb

A few weeks ago I took a knife skills class at the Boston Center for Adult Education. I picked up some great tricks to add to my culinary arsenal. I learned when to pull and push my knife depending on what I’m cutting. I learned how to de-bone a chicken (and it was awesome!).  Not to mention we ate some delicious food. One of them being this French Onion Soup.

So when I needed to come up with a soup to make for a Soup Potluck that I was having with Ashley from Cooking for 1, Megan from Cooking Whims and Liz from Eating Places I immediately thought of this soup. I made this the week before and I’m glad I did because I was able to tweak it to really bring out the flavor of the soup. I highly recommend pairing this with some crusty Italian bread and melted cheese. It’s pretty amazing. I’ll be recapping our soup swap next time!

 

French Onion Soup

Adapted from my BCAE knife skills class

  • 6 large yellow onions, half chopped and half sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp beef base
  • 8 cups water
  • 1 cup white wine
  • half package bacon, chopped
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 tbsp chopped thyme
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a large saute pan, heat the pan and add the bacon. Cook bacon over medium high heat until crispy and then using a strainer, remove the bacon and put aside.

Keep the reserved bacon fat in the pan and add about 2 tbsp olive oil. Add the onions. In order to make a good caramelized onion without using sugar it’s important to stir the onions only when you need to. In fact, add the onions to the pan and walk away from it for at least 10 minutes. Do not turn the onions until the bottom is browned. Once they are browned, stir and turn the onions and let sit for another 10 minutes or so. Continue to stir, turn and wait until all the onions are browned. Then add the minced garlic and stir for about 2 minutes. Turn off the heat.

In a medium sized soup pot add the water and beef base and stir to break up the base. Add the onions and garlic to the pot along with the wine, bay leaf and chopped thyme. Cover partially and simmer for 30 minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste. I had some smoked salt and used that.

When you are ready to serve, add the crispy bacon to the soup. Feel free to add some cheese to your soup to make it extra creamy. Serve with some crusty bread.

4 Responses to “French Onion Soup”

  1. Elizabeth February 1, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    That is the prettiest french onion soup I have ever seen. A knife skills class would be awesome.

  2. Megan February 1, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    I’m liking this post because this was the best French Onion Soup I’ve ever had! I can’t wait to try it on my own!! I had a great time with you at the soup swap and can’t wait to get together again 🙂

  3. Meesh February 1, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    french onion soup is amazing. ive never made it with Bacon fat before, and it looks like that is something i need to do very soon

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Soup Swap! « Tales From A Kitchen Misfit - February 6, 2011

    […] soups, starting at the top and going clockwise, are Megan’s Roasted Garlic Soup, my French Onion Soup, Liz’s Mushroom Barley Soup, and Ashley’s Butternut Squash Soup. They were all […]

Leave a Reply

