Sausage & Cheese Quinoa

30 Jan

I introduced my husband to the wonders of quinoa a while ago. He had never heard of quinoa before. I don’t even think he knew how to spell or pronounce it. I think the first time he saw it he thought it was some dried form of couscous.

My friends, if you’ve never had quinoa before, it’s time to jump on the bandwagon. I have never seen something so versatile. Quinoa can be eaten at any time of the day. You can have it for breakfast. Or maybe you want to have a light lunch. You can have it for dessert. Or you can have it for dinner like I did.

And quinoa isn’t just a side dish. It is the main character here. The star of the show, if you will. Front and center, it’s all about the quinoa.

Did I also mention that quinoa is one of the healthiest foods you can eat? It’s got a lot of protein, essential amino acids, dietary fiber, is gluten free and is easy to digest. Not to mention that it is very filling and will keep you full for a long time. You pretty much can’t go wrong with it.

After I made this quinoa dish my husband said, and I quote, “Feel free to buy and make quinoa whenever you want. It’s really good.”

If I haven’t sold you on quinoa yet, then by the time you finish reading this recipe, you’ll be a convert for sure.

Sausage & Cheese Quinoa

  • 2 cups cooked quinoa*
  • 9oz fresh spinach
  • 1 cup sliced gouda
  • 2 links of cooked turkey andouille sausage, sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1-2 tbsp olive oil

*If you want to learn how to cook quinoa, click here.

In a large saute pan heat the olive oil. Add the garlic and cook for 2 minutes, or until the garlic is nicely browned. Add in the spinach and cook until the spinach is wilted. Add in the sausage and stir for another 2 minutes. Add the quinoa and the cheese and stir until the cheese has been distributed evenly. Add salt and pepper to taste. Transfer to a bowl and add more sliced cheese to the top because it’s that delicious. Garnish with some dried parsley.

If you want to make this vegetarian, just take out the sausage! I would recommend adding more cheese though, or combining 2 different cheeses, to make the dish more interesting.

5 Responses to “Sausage & Cheese Quinoa”

  1. Sarah @ Semi-Sweet January 30, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    We’re huge fans of quinoa over here . . . and of sausage & cheese – this is making my mouth water at 9:25 a.m. – Quinoa (not mac)-n-cheese w/sausage – what’s not to love?

  2. Megan January 30, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    I absolutely love quinoa. I’ve made a few dishes with it, but I really want to try something like this. It looks like comfort food!

  3. Elizabeth January 30, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen quinoa prepared so decadently! I love it with pretty much anything, especially as a breakfast food.

  4. Angela January 30, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    I had never heard of quinoa until my nephew was born; it was one of the foods we and pureed for him as a baby. This recipe looks wonderful.

  5. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic January 31, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    Yum! Sounds like a great recipe. Can’t go wrong with spinach, sausage and cheese!

Leave a Reply

