Restaurant Review: Cheeseboy

20 Jan

UPDATE: So I had NO idea when I wrote this that today is National Cheese Day! So it is quite fitting that I decided to write about CHEESE. Have a Happy National Cheese Day and make sure to get in your serving of CHEESE!

I believe truer words have never been said. Just add bacon to that equation and I’m a happy camper.

Cheeseboy opened up in South Station October 2010 and when I saw the huge poster with grilled cheese on it, well, I knew I was going to have a problem.

I would just like to point out that this place gets BUSY. Like, busy from 11:30-2PM there is always a line. People appreciate a good grilled cheese sandwich.

A few of my coworkers didn’t understand the appeal of Cheeseboy. They thought it was too much money for something you can make at home. Yes, you are correct, I said, you can make them at home. But you CAN’T make them at work. That’s the whole point!! ::sigh:: Some people just don’t get it

The menu at Cheeseboy is pretty simple. You can go for a classic, a healthy version, or anything in between. You can add meat, veggies, even change up the cheese. And they have tomato soup. Because what’s grilled cheese without tomato soup?

After they make your grill cheese they pack them in a cute little to-go box. It’s like a mini pizza box. Whenever I go I always get the combo, which includes a sandwich, small soup and a small drink. I love the classic sandwich, and I usually add bacon and tomato to it, because that’s just how I roll.

This time around I actually did order my sandwich with bacon but they forgot to add it. It’s ok, they didn’t charge me extra. The presses that they use create the perfect sandwich. Crispy on the outside, gooey and melty on the inside. It’s pretty remarkable.

Add to that the tomato soup? Foggetaboutit. I like to dunk my sandwich into the soup and leave it there for about 30 seconds so it can sop up all the deliciousness of the soup.

All in all a lunch like this costs roughly $6.00, a little more if you add more stuff to your sandwich. This is easily the best eatery in all of South Station and obviously the hoards of people that wait in line agree. Why go to McDonalds for rubbery questionable meat when you can have a delicious and FRESH grilled cheese sandwich? That’s what I thought.

Cheeseboy on Urbanspoon

13 Responses to “Restaurant Review: Cheeseboy”

  1. HH January 20, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    omg looks delish!!! i LOVE grilled cheese! lol you need to come do some restaurant reviews down near me!

  2. kitchenmisfit January 20, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    It’s a date!

  3. Rachel January 20, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    This just makes me super excited for Roxy to finally (maybe one day?) open up in Cleveland Circle! I did get tips from their website on how to make the perfect grilled cheese using mayo instead of butter to toast it! I made a sharp cheddar grilled cheese with Trader Joe’s Organic Fire Roasted Pepper and Tomato soup for dinner last night!

    • kitchenmisfit January 20, 2011 at 10:31 am #

      I wish Roxy would open up SOON! But maybe I don’t since I’m back on WW’s and might cause a problem in the whole losing weight department! Have you ever tried it with pesto? Did that once and almost cried it was so good!

      • Rachel January 20, 2011 at 10:55 am #

        I have a great Hungry-Girl pesto recipe! I’m thinking of starting a food blog as well, maybe we should do a joint post and make healthy-ish pesto grilled cheese (and non-fat mayo to toast) and home-made tomato soup! If you use whole wheat, high fiber bread, the only really unhealthy part is the cheese, which isn’t even that bad for you!

      • kitchenmisfit January 20, 2011 at 10:59 am #

        I think you SHOULD start a blog. I have made a TON of great blogger friends in the Boston area. You can totally guest post on my blog 😉

  4. A Boston Food Diary January 20, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    I keep meaning to get over there…mmmmm grilled cheese and tomato soup- a perfect combination! Nice review- and lovely photos- now Im starving at 9:30 am…thanks 🙂

    • Meesh January 20, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

      omg i love Cheeseboy. Grilled cheese + tomato soup is the BEST.

      happy national cheeese day!

  5. Megan January 20, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    Ohhh boy. Now I’m craving grilled cheese all over again. And all this at South Station? Next time I’m waiting for a train, I’ll also gladly wait for one of these 🙂

  6. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic January 21, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    I wish Cheesesboy was near my office so I can go there for lunch, like everyday. I love grilled cheese and tomato soup, yum!

  7. Lindsay January 22, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

    What a brilliant idea for a restaurant!!! If they had one in Toronto, I’d be there all. the. time.

  8. Elizabeth January 23, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    I keep hearing about Cheeseboy so I took a look at your review to see if it was worth all the hoopla. I have to say, I’m not the biggest american cheese fan, so I’m curious to see reviews of the cheddar or swiss. Have you tried either of those?

    • kitchenmisfit January 23, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

      I have tried a couple of their other cheeses but I really like the cheddar cheese. The one I haven’t tried yet is Munster and I think I will try that next time!

Leave a Reply

