Chocolate Waffles

18 Jan

One of the items on my Christmas wish list was a waffle maker. And not just ANY waffle maker, but the kind that you can turn. I remember my freshman year of college going to the food hall for the first time and seeing that I could make waffles anytime I want.

“Wait, waffles, 24/7?!” (I believe one of the food halls was 24/7, and even though I lived across the street from the gym I still didn’t prevent the Freshman 30 15)

I would get a kick out of turning the waffles when they were halfway done (I was neither high nor drunk at the time either), and then adding all sorts of topping to said waffles. Although never chicken, mainly because I hadn’t been exposed to the wonderment that is chicken and waffles.

Anyway, this past weekend I was craving some waffles. Chocolate waffles to be exact. I hadn’t gone food shopping yet, so I had limited supplies, but I had enough to whip up these delicious waffles. I didn’t add the extra chocolate chips that the original recipe called for, so these waffles had a subtle chocolate flavor instead of a chocolate punch that the chips would have given. Sprinkles with some blackberries and carrot cake jam that a friend of mine made for me, these were a great start to the day!

Chocolate Waffles

Recipe adapted from Lettuce Pray

  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/8 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 tbsp melted butter
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • Optional: 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Preheat waffle maker and spray with cooking spray.

Combine the flour, brown sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder, salt and baking soda in a medium bowl. In another bowl combine the eggs, butter, vanilla extract and buttermilk. Mix the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients until smooth. Add the chocolate chips if you want.

Since I have a bigger waffle maker, I put about a cup of the mix into the waffle maker and the waffles were done in about 3.5 minutes. Makes 3 waffles total. Add your favorite toppings and enjoy!

5 Responses to “Chocolate Waffles”

  1. Rebel mel January 18, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    I can’t express enough that I NEED a waffle iron. A chocolate waffle is exactly what I’m craving right now.

  2. Ashleigh January 18, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    I’m much more of an eggs for bfast person, but those look good. I especially love your first photograph- awesome job!

  3. Stephanie @ The Cookie Battle January 19, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    I too lived across from the gym and gained the freshman 15 + 15 more for good measure. Funny enough, I lived quite a ways from the dining hall so I never even used my meal plan…that 30 pounds was all chinese and pizza delivery! Oh and beer of course…

  4. Megan January 19, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    Well that settles it. I’m going to steal one of my mom’s 5 waffle irons she happens to have in her kitchen and try this recipe. 🙂

    • kitchenmisfit January 19, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

      Do it! Homemade waffles are the BEST! Plus you can make a whole bunch and freeze them for later!

Leave a Reply

