Pecan Tassies

16 Jan

It’s quite rare that I bookmark a recipe that I like and make it within the same week, month, year. I’m an indecisive person. Big menus give me panic attacks. I can never decide if I want the chicken or the penne. The steak tips or the wrap. Even though I plan my dinners for the week, something always pops up. Thus is life, no?

So one day I was catching up on my blog reading when I came upon these pecan tassies over on Brown Eyed Baker. It was just before Christmas and we were planning on going to my mother-in-laws house the next day. I saw her recipe of pecan tassies and knew that I needed, HAD to make them. I mean they are perfect, bite sized little bundles of joy. I may have eaten one five of these when they came out of the oven.

Now I’m not a huge fan of pecan pie. Sometimes it can be to sickly sweet. These babies, are anything but sickly. They are crunchy, they are sweet, and they are addicting. They are so amazing I made them the same day I read about them. WHO DOES THAT?!

It’s ok, to make up for it, I didn’t post about them until now.

Pecan Tassies

Recipe from Brown Eyed Baker

  • 1 cup unsalted butter
  • 6 oz cream cheese
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1.5 cups light brown sugar
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

For the dough, beat the butter, cream cheese and flour on low speed in a mixer until combined. Divide into 48 pieces and roll into balls. Refrigerate for an hour.

Once they have been removed from the oven flatten the balls with the palm of your hand until they are about 2-3 inches in diameter. Press the flattened balls into a mini muffin pan, making sure that are pressed in all the way.

For the filling, mix the brown sugar, chopped pecans, eggs, melted butter and vanilla extract until combined. Spread evenly among the dough. I only have one mini muffin pan so I had to do this about 3 or 4 times. I just put everything in the fridge between baking. Top the tassies with more pecans. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the tops are set. Move them onto a wire rack to cool completely. Try not to eat them all in one sitting.

4 Responses to “Pecan Tassies”

  1. Kilia January 16, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    I made some of these over Christmas as well, as part of my huge Christmas Baking Bonanza. They were slightly labor intensive (buttering each well of the pans, and then getting the dough just right on the edges was hard!) but there were four of us girls working in the kitchen, and it went by really fast! I admit to eating quite a few of them, and now they are on my “must bake” list.

    Thanks for sharing, great post!

  2. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic January 16, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

    I love pecan pie, and I love anything mini too, so I would be all over these babies! I actually made mini pecan-pie inspired desserts over the holidays (caramel pecan shortbread cups) – they were a little labor-intensive but totally worth it! I tell myself if the dessert is mini, its calories doesn’t count 😉

  3. Angie's Recipes January 17, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    oh yeah…these nutty tassies look gorgeous! Just can’t get enough of them.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pecan Pie Muffins or Bread…Your choice! « agourmetcupboard - March 5, 2011

    […] Pecan Tassies (kitchenmisfit.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

