Homemade Salsa

8 Jan

For Christmas Eve with the in-laws, I was asked to make salsa. I’m apparently getting quite the reputation, because my husband’s aunt told my mother-in-law that she was really excited for what I was going to whip up.

I was originally going to try to do some fancy mango or peach salsa, but then I decided to just make a classic homemade salsa. I also brought over a roasted red pepper white bean dip. Both were very well received and there was basically none left by the end of the night!

I also got to play with my parents adorable kitten, Cody.

How freakin’ adorable is he?!? He is such a friendly kitty and loves to play, just like kittens do. He’s also a brat. He likes to eat a lot.

I didn’t manage to grab a picture, but he sleeps on his back. Fully splayed out. Legs wide open, front paws over his head. It’s pretty much the cutest and funniest thing ever.

Anyway, back to salsa.

Homemade Salsa

  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 1 large can of peeled, canned, whole tomatoes
  • 1 jalapeno, seeds removed and chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1 cup cilantro
  • juice of 1 lime
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and pulse to your desired chunkiness. If you prefer, chop up some fresh tomatoes and add them to the salsa. Also feel free to add hot sauce and/or don’t seed the jalapenos if you want your salsa to have more of a kick!

4 Responses to “Homemade Salsa”

  1. Jenn January 8, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    My sister taught me years ago how to make awesome guacamole. Let me know if you ever want to try it. 🙂

  2. Meesh January 10, 2011 at 12:42 am #

    gotta love classic homemade salsa! (+ i love Cody)

  3. merut January 11, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    What an adorable kitty. Oh no – don’t develop a reputation! You’ll have to cook for yourself forever!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mexican Chicken Rice Bake « Tales From A Kitchen Misfit - January 11, 2011

    […] 1/2 Cup Salsa (store bought or homemade) […]

Leave a Reply

