Restaurant Review: Pho Viet’s

6 Jan

If you want to know the fastest way to my heart then look no further than this:

Pho. I could eat Pho for breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert. Everyday, for the rest of my life. And I would NEVER get sick of it. EVER EVER EVER. This is how much I love Pho.

Whenever I am not working and my husband is, I always have lunch at Pho Viet’s in the Super 88 in Allston.

As an aside, I used to be scared to come into Super 88. I can’t even really explain why. I think it was because of all the second hand horror stories I had heard about it. And then finally I went, and promptly called myself an idiot for thinking Super 88 wasn’t anything less than FANTASTIC.

What I really like about Pho Viet’s (Besides the Pho of course) is that their little storefront is covered with delicious pictures of FOOD. All their dishes are displayed via pictures so you will know exactly what you are getting. This, is fabulous.

Going slightly off tangent at the moment, I’d like to introduce you to the other love of my life (Besides my husband). Lovingly referred to as “cock” sauce, I put Sriracha on ANYTHING. I put it on eggs, in my Pho, smothered on my chicken, hell, I would even try to make Sriracha ice cream. I love cock sauce so much that I actually dressed up as it one year for Halloween. That, my friends, is truem unrequitted love.

But enough of my love tales. Back to the FOOD. I always get the same thing when I come to Pho Viet’s. I always start off with the Chicken and Shrimp Summer Rolls ($3.95) which are served with a thick and yummy peanut sauce.

They are HUGE! And they are packed with delicious goodness. They do NOT skimp on shrimp or chicken. And they taste so fresh it’s unbelievable.

After the consumption of delicious Summer rolls I always get the Pho Ga ($6.65). I usually order it with yellow noodles, but forgot this time around. It’s ok. Ladies and Gentlemen, this Pho Ga is UNREAL. The bowl is filled to the brim with deliciousness. They only put white meat chicken in their Pho which is amazing in an of itself. I’ve been around the Pho block in Boston most places have a sad combination of dark and grisly chicken meat. Not appetizing. And not so at Pho Viet’s. I’m constantly amazed at the shear amount of chicken in the Pho and how delicious it is. You heard it hear first, BEST Pho Ga in the city.

And the broth. Oh.My.Lord. The broth. I’m quickly turning into a 14 year old fan girl, but again, such is the level of my love for Pho. For a VERY long time, my favorite Pho broth in all of Boston was at Xinh Xinh which is located in Chinatown. Their broth was out of this world. That is, until I had Pho Viet’s broth. Knocked it out of the park. The flavors are so rich and so abundant, I’m almost tempted to ask them for a bowl of just the broth. Almost. Usually I am too full by the time I get to the remaining broth, but I almost always lick my bowl clean at Pho Viet’s. Once you add the delicious cock sauce and Hoisin sauce (which they only give a small tablespoon of, where’s the bottle man!?), you are set.

A couple last minute things. You need to ask for the side dish of bean sprouts, thai basil and limes (they also provide sliced jalepenos for that extra kick!) or they will either forget or won’t give it to you. Same goes for the Sriracha and the Hoisin. Make sure to return the bowls to the counter. Grab a Thai Iced Tea next door at Lollicup. If you have not tried Pho Viet’s yet, I am not entirely sure what you are waiting for. GET ON IT!

Pho Viet's on Urbanspoon

13 Responses to “Restaurant Review: Pho Viet’s”

  1. Meesh January 6, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    LOVE pho! this place looks great, I’ll have to check it out!

  2. Lara January 6, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    They make the best fresh limeade! My favorite meal (really enough for 3 meals) is limeade, vegetarian fresh rolls, & vermicelli with grilled beef.

    They also make a delicious sandwich for a ridiculously low price.

    Next time you go for lunch send me a note and I’ll come meet you – I work just down the street at BU! (@goodcookdoris)

    • kitchenmisfit January 6, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

      Yes we should! I should really try some other things on their menu, but their Pho is so fabulous that I have to get it every time!

  3. Mario Buttali January 7, 2011 at 12:46 am #

    I just love Pho Viet’s too. You have to try the Banh Mi!

  4. Bruce January 7, 2011 at 12:57 am #

    Ok, pho viet’s is good, but along the same lines, Super88 IS SCARY! Face it, if not for the food court, that place would be condemned.

    Check out tiny mom n’pop pho place on main street in Canton. Even better broth. No fat, homemade. Delicious and made by sweet old man and his wife 🙂

    • Sarah @ Semi-Sweet January 7, 2011 at 8:09 am #

      Great review – we’re regulars at Pho Viet and love pho ga, but also the veggie pho – lots and lots of steamed veggies on top of the noodles and triangles of tofu. We’re not vegetarians, so we order it w/that kick-ass chicken broth- mmmmm.

      • kitchenmisfit January 7, 2011 at 9:13 am #

        I have not tried the veggie Pho as of yet at Pho Viet’s but now you’ve got me intrigued!

    • kitchenmisfit January 7, 2011 at 10:51 am #

      I love you. This is MAGNIFICENT. I might just have to buy it RIGHT.NOW

  5. A Boston Food Diary January 7, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    mmmmmmmmmmmmmm…wait for it…mmmmmmmmmmm I GREATLY appreciate your reviews of Pho! It is absolutely one of my favorite things- on the planet- and you always find such great spots! Thank you thank you for writing this one up!

    • kitchenmisfit January 7, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

      OMG, I was just WAITING for you to chime in. I agree. We should totally get Pho together at some point!

  6. Meghan@travelwinedine January 7, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    Mmmmm I love everything in this post! And lived near Super 88 for awhile and only went once. . . I wish I had been more adventurous back then!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Who loves cock sauce? : allston city limits - January 6, 2011

    […] review of Pho Viet’s in Super 88 makes a pleasant diversion into an all too familiar worship of Thai […]

Leave a Reply

