Sticky Sticky Buns

1 Jan

Happy 2011 everyone! I hope you all had a safe and wonderful New Year’s!

I spent New Year’s with these babies. It’s ok, I also spent it with my husband and some close friends.

If you are from Boston you have heard of Flour Bakery. Even if you aren’t from Boston, you may know of Flour Bakery and their legendary Sticky Sticky Buns because they and Joanne Chang appeared on Throwdown w/ Bobby Flay. And she won. That’s how amazing they are. Only a few months ago did I actually try these amazing sticky buns. And amazing they are. When I saw that she also had a cookbook that contained said sticky buns, I asked Santa for the Flour Cookbook for Christmas.

And luckily Santa delivered!! I knew that I could never make the Sticky Buns for myself and hubby, so I knew that they were be a PERFECT ending to 2010. What is great about these buns is that you can prep most of it the night before. I did the brioche and the goo the night before, and the next day assembled and let them rise a second time before baking. I baked them once I got to my friend’s house. I think the next time I make these I will add the buns to the goo closer to baking time as the tops were a little on the extra gooey side (pun intended). But I like my buns to be gooey so they tasted fantastic to me!! And thankfully everyone else loved them as well!! It was hard waiting the requisite 20 minutes to let the buns cool, but it was so worth it!

Also, I would NOT attempt this recipe without a stand mixer. The brioche dough needs to mix for almost a half hour, and at one point I thought my mixer was going to explode! It was BURNING hot! But I really think all the mixing makes the dough extra airy and amazing and delicious!

WARNING: CONTAINS MASSIVE AMOUNTS OF BUTTER. PROCEED WITH CAUTION!

Pecan Sticky Buns

Recipe from the Flour Bakery Cookbook

Part 1: Brioche Dough

  • 2 1/4 cup unbleached all purpose flour
  • 2 1/4 cups bread flour
  • 3 1/4 tsp yeast
  • 1/3 cup plus 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup cold water
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 cup plus 6 tbsp unsalted butter, at room temperature, cut into 10-12 pieces

In a stand mixer fitted with the dough hook, combine all-purpose flour, bread flour, yeast, sugar, salt, water, and the eggs. Beat on low speed for 3-4 minutes, or until all of the ingredients have come together, making sure to scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl as needed. Once the dough has come together, beat on low speed for another 3-4 minutes.

 

The dough will be stiff and dry, that's ok!

On low speed, add the butter one piece at a time, mixing after each addition until it disappears into the dough. All together this should take about 10 minutes. MAKE SURE your butter is at room temperature otherwise it will take FOREVER to incorporate. I ended up heating the butter in the microwave and it incorporated much faster.

Once the butter is incorporated, turn the mixer on medium speed and mix for another 15 minutes or so, making sure your mixer doesn’t explode or attempt to wake off the counter in the process. Once the dough becomes soft, sticky and shiny turn up to medium-high for 1 minute. The dough will make a funny slapping noise. This is normal! If your dough is too wet, add some extra flour until it has a dough like consistency. If it breaks into pieces when you pull on it, keep mixing!

 

Shiny, Happy Dough

At this point I put the dough covered with some plastic wrap in my fridge overnight. If you want to make them right away, make sure the dough proofs in the fridge for at least 6 hours.

Part 2: Goo

Just a little tangent here. The goo is what makes Flour Bakery’s sticky buns so famous. This goo is magical. It’s a life altering experience. It uses a lot of butter. As I mentioned before, this whole sticky bun recipe calls for a lot of butter. B But obviously if you are looking to make the best sticky buns of your life, you should probably expect a lot of butter.

But I digress.

  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/4 tsp salt

In a medium saucepan, melt the butter over medium heat. Whisk in the brown sugar until the sugar dissolves. Remove from heat and whisk in the honey, cream, water and salt. Let cool for at least 30 minutes, or put in your fridge overnight.

Part 3: Assembling Sticky Sticky Buns

  • 1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup pecan halves, chopped

On a floured work surface, roll out the dough into a rectangle about 16×12 inches and 1/4 inch thick. Position the short side towards you. In a small bowl, stir together the brown sugar, granulated sugar, cinnamon, and half of the pecans. Spread evenly over the dough. Starting from the short side farthest from you, roll the dough tightly towards you. Even off the ends by trimming about 1/4 inch from either side. Consume extra brioche dough.

Using a sharp knife, cut the roll into 8 equal pieces.Pour the goo into a 9/13 inch baking dish and sprinkle the remaining pecans into the goo. Place the buns, evenly spaced, into the dish. Cover with plastic wrap and let them rise for 2-3 hours, or until the dough is soft and the buns are touching.

Preheat the oven to 350 and bake for 35-45 minutes or until golden brown. Let cool in the baking dish on a wire rack for at least 20 minutes.

One at a time, invert the buns onto a serving platter, and spoon on as much goo as your heart desires. Consume immediately, then go take a nap afterward.

9 Responses to “Sticky Sticky Buns”

  1. Shannon January 1, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    Those look AMAZING. I might need to figure how to make these gluten free…Happy new year! 🙂

    • kitchenmisfit January 1, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

      I don’t think it should be too difficult. I’m wondering if it’s possible to use a nut flour like almond maybe? I’m not too sure what kinds of gluten free flours there are, but I’m sure you can figure that out easy!!

  2. Megan January 2, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    Love these sticky buns! I worked at Flour for a year and probably made thousands of these. I definitely think leaving them in the goo ahead of time is necessary… for that extra sticky sticky bun! Happy New Year!

    • kitchenmisfit January 2, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

      Leaving them in the goo is definitely a must! I think I may have left them in there too long though! Some of them were a little too mushy, heh, but still delicious!!

  3. Evan Thomas January 5, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    These look so so good! Sticky buns are the best indulgent breakfast, especially when they’re still warm and steam comes out as you pull them apart. I’m drooling just thinking of them.

  4. mollyparr January 6, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    Santa brought me the Flour cookbook too! For our inaugural bake, we did the roasted pear and cranberry crostada. It took an entire day, but was totally worth it. I can’t wait to tackle these buns. They look delicious!

  5. Renee November 8, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    Love the post! I do have a quick question though (albeit a bit of a stupid one) when it says 3 1/4 tsp yeast, what kind of yeast is that exactly? Can active dry yeast be used? Thanks!

    • kitchenmisfit November 8, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

      This recipe calls for Active dry yeast 🙂

Leave a Reply

