2010 in Review

31 Dec

I wasn’t going to post a 2010 recap because I thought I didn’t really have much to recap! But then as I thought about it I realized, wait a minute! A ton of stuff happened in 2010! So here I go.

The first couple of months of 2010 went by in a blue because I was consumed with wedding planning!! I married my best friend and the love of my life on April 3, 2010. I was surrounded by the most important people in my life and it literally was the best day of my life!

The wedding was followed by an amazing honeymoon to Germany, with stops in Bamberg, Nuremberg, Munich and Augsburg. I got Strep Throat while we were in Bamberg, and we got stranded by the Eyjafjallajokull volcano (still don’t know how to pronounce that!) and while I was not happy about it at the time, looking back on it it was definitely an adventure! We had some amazing food, drank A LOT of beer, and had an amazing time. So amazing that I want to go back!


In June I started this blog! I had always been interested in cooking and I wasn’t very good at baking, so I decided to start a blog in order to enhance my skills. Looking back on where I started I think I’ve come a long way! Check out my first post here: Baked Falafel.

Also in June I went back to my favorite place in the world, Camp Sunshine! This year proved to be an extra special year because a few months later an amazing little boy named Nicholas passed away and Camp will never be the same without him.

R.I.P. Sweet Nicholas

In September Joe and I visited Portland, ME. Check out the recap here and here. We had such a great time and will definitely be visiting again!

In October I ran my first half marathon!! I ran it in just about 2 hours and 10 minutes. I couldn’t walk for the rest of the day but I was so proud of myself. I can’t wait to do it again!

I also met some fabulous Boston area bloggers and attended some great events and I can’t wait to attend even more in 2011.

What I’m looking forward to in 2011.

2011 promises to be an even more fantastic year. Hubby and I are going to visit his cousin and wife in San Francisco as well as a weekend at Lake Tahoe. This means I need to learn how to snowboard ASAP! We’re also thinking of heading back to London for a weekend and then to Belgium for another week. The prospect of this makes me literally jump around!! A very good friend of mine is also getting married in Bermuda next year so hopefully we’ll be able to make a long weekend out of that!

In terms of this blog, I’m hoping to get a new design up in time for my one year blogiversary, attend more food blogger events, and increase my repertoire when it comes to cooking and baking. I’m really hoping I cane bake a cake that is more than an inch thick, so perhaps that will be one of my New Year’s Resolutions? And I’m hoping that I’ll be able to buy a new camera, finish my lightbox, and take my picture taking abilities to the next level.

In terms of my life in general, well, I’ll be celebrating my first wedding anniversary with my husband. I also need to lose all the weight I gained after the honeymoon! And hopefully train and run a few more half marathons, and who knows, maybe try my hand at a FULL marathon.

So there you have it, 2010 in a nutshell! Have a great and safe New Year, and we’ll see you next year!

 

One Response to “2010 in Review”

  1. Ellie (Almost Bourdain) January 1, 2011 at 3:10 am #

    Thanks for such a wonderful post! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

