Restaurant Review: Charlie’s Diner

30 Dec

Every single time I come home for more than a day, I always go to Charlie’s Diner. Charlie’s Diner was open in 1947 and was originally located on Plantation St. in Worcester. In 2005, the developers that owned the land Charlie’s was situated on told them to ship out and they moved to my hometown of Spencer, MA. And I couldn’t be happier about it.

Steve and Guy Fieri, from Diners Drive-Ins, and Dives

Thanks to that guy, Charlie’s has become even more famous than before. Checkout Charlie’s Diner, which was featured on Triple D here. Thankfully, the fame hasn’t gone to Steve or Charlie’s heads. They are friendlier than ever, and always remember your name. Every time I’ve ever been there, Steve’s always there, and he always greets everyone with a smile and a good conversation. You’ll even catch a glimpse of Charlie greeting the regulars at the counter top.

In keeping with a traditional Worcester dining car, it’s retrofitted with built in cooling units and a working grill top. Since Charlie’s has since expanded, they do most of their cooking in the new bigger kitchen, but I’ve still seen them fire the grill top out front on occasion.

They have a paper menu, but they also list their menu up top. I pretty much know what I want for breakfast when I get there, so a menu isn’t necessary for me. Pretty much everything on the menu is under $7.00, with the exception of Charlie’s Ultimate, which is $12.95, which includes, a 6oz steak, pancakes, eggs, home fries, choice of sausage, bacon, or kielbasa, toast, and probably something else I’m forgetting. And did I mention that is only $12.95????

Whenever you come to Charlie’s you have to have their coffee. It’s excellent. It’s not burnt. It’s not bland. It’s flavorful and unlimited. And it’s $2.00. You can’t get better than that.

This particular time I went with my Dad and he usually gets the Meat Lover’s Omelet, which includes basically all of their meats with eggs, a side of toast and home fries for $6.95. He likes to slather it in hot sauce. It’s delicious.

I went with the 2+2+2 which is two pancakes, two eggs any style, and 2 pieces of bacon. I think they lace their pancakes with crack because they are AMAZING. Get your eggs over easy, pop them open on top of the pancakes, a little bit of syrup and butter, and you are all set. They are fluffy and delicious. They made me happy. And it comes in at under $5.00.

Miraculously enough, I have never been to Charlie’s for anything other than breakfast. I don’t know why this is, but I vow the next time I come home to have dinner. But I know their dinners are fabulous. Sandwiches, wraps, good ol’ fashioned comfort foods. Charlie’s delivers on this in spades. Since they have expanded, the other side of the restaurant has a full bar. I went to Charlie’s twice this past weekend (This is how much I love Charlie’s) and sat in the actual restaurant and it was like I was in a different place!! Still wonderful, but different.

The Addition to the Diner

If you find yourself in Spencer, for whatever reason, Charlie’s is a MUST stop. The best diner in all of Massachusetts in my opinion!

 

Charlies Diner on Urbanspoon

3 Responses to “Restaurant Review: Charlie’s Diner”

  1. Reed February 20, 2011 at 2:23 am #

    Haven’t been ther since the final expansion love the food and service. The only issue was they only took Cash. No debit or credit cards. And if you don’t know that before going in it could present a problem. Has that changed ? I hope so. Like some people don’t always carry cash just a debit card because most places except them. Please post if that has changed. The last review didn’t specify on types of payments excepted.

    • kitchenmisfit February 20, 2011 at 10:52 am #

      Yeah they definitely take credit cards now!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Charlie’s Diner review | Worcester - December 30, 2010

    […] Sure, it’s in Spencer now, but it used to be in Worcester. Enjoy this review. […]

Leave a Reply

