Restaurant Review: South End Buttery

23 Dec

Anything with the word buttery in it has got to be good right? My husband and I have been wanting to try this place for a long time now. So one day we decided to do some Christmas shopping in the South End and decided to pop over for brunch at the South End Buttery.

There are two sections to the buttery, the cafe and the dining room. Each area has a different menu. Things were poppin’ on a Saturday afternoon but we managed to grab a seat downstairs. I had no idea there was a downstairs!! And there’s a partial view of the outside in the back. As you can see in the cafe area they prominently display their delicious treats.

The brunch menu is pretty standard fare, with a couple of egg dishes, pancakes, waffles, and some other surprises. Husband went with the traditional coffee but I had stolen a quick glance at the cafe drink specials black board upstairs and ordered myself an eggnog latte ($3.95).

Our waiter thought for a minute that I had ordered the alcoholic eggnog drink, and while I wouldn’t complain about having a little rum in my latte, he did verify the correct order after a minute or so. The latte was creamy, but not sickly sweet like eggnog is. It was delicious.

For an appetizer of sorts we ordered the homemade scone, with clotted cream and homemade raspberry jam ($5.00). The scone was out of this world. Slathered with clotted cream and jam, it was heavenly. There were little chunks of what looked like browned butter, and it melted in your mouth. The clotted cream was a little too buttery tasting for me (heh, get it, buttery? Ok, I’ll stop), and really didn’t taste like the airy clotted cream that I had in England. The homemade raspberry jam was also delicious, with a slight bite to it.

Hubby ordered the Buttery Breakfast ($10) which was 2 pancakes with 2 eggs any style with bacon or sausage links and Vermont maple syrup. The pancakes were light and fluffy, some of the best I’ve had in quite some time. I don’t know if the sausage is homemade, but it tasted really good.

I ordered the Smoked Salmon Platter ($12) which was a multi seed bagel with cream cheese, red onion, capers, tomato and salmon. I also ordered a side of poached eggs ($2.95, not pictured) because I was craving eggs. The eggs were overcooked sadly, the yoke barely oozed out of the egg. I was happy that my bagel was chock full of salmon, they most certainly don’t skimp out on that, which I was happy about. I also really enjoyed the fruit salad. I normally hate all fruit salads because there’s too much cantaloupe and melon for my taste. While there was still some melons present, there was also blueberries, kiwi, watermelon, blackberries, raspberries, strawberries and even banana. I saved it for last, and it was awesome!

We will definitely be back for brunch and I would love to come back to try dinner. Definitely great for brunch or a date night!

South End Buttery on Urbanspoon

P.S. In case you haven’t caught on yet Thursday’s have turned into Restaurant Review Thursdays! I’m really excited to share with you my favorite (and not so favorite) restaurants in the Boston (and beyond!) area. Since I’m home for Christmas for a few days, I can’t wait to share some of my favorite places with you!

Leave a Reply

