Stove Top Mac And Cheese

20 Dec

The first actual snowfall is happening right now in Boston and I’m wishing I made this stove top mac and cheese for dinner. Not that my dinner wasn’t delicious (it was) but there’s nothing like good old fashioned comfort food when it’s snowing outside and you want to hunker down on your couch and watch a hot serial killer for the rest of the night (Dexter anyone? ::Swoon::)

Enough about hot serial killers, let’s talk epic battle between baked and stove top mac and cheese. Each are so delicious, yet so different. I find myself preferring baked when I go out to restaurants, but at home, stove top all the way. There’s just an extra gooey factor that you can’t get as much with baked as you can with stove top.

I added a little zing to this mac and cheese by adding some chopped chorizo, and I think it really pulled everything together. Is it snowing where you are? Then make this mac and cheese. You’ll thank me later.

Stove Top Mac and Cheese

  • 1 cup chopped chorizo
  • 1.5 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1.5 cups shredded Gruyere cheese
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 1 cup half and half, warmed
  • 1 cup milk (I used skim), warmed
  • 1 package pasta of your choice (I used Rotelle)

Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain and put pasta back in pot.

In a small sauce pan bring together the butter and flour until thickened about 3-4 minutes. Slowly add the warmed milk and half and half, stirring constantly. Stir constantly until incorporated and heated thru, an additional 3-4 minutes. Turn the pot of pasta on medium heat. Add the milk mixture to the pasta and stir.

Add cheese. Stir until cheese has melted completely and has been incorporated with the pasta. Add the chorizo and stir occasionally  until everything is heated thru, about 5 more minutes. Serve immediately.

Your Turn! Which do you prefer, stove top or baked mac and cheese?

3 Responses to “Stove Top Mac And Cheese”

  1. Amy December 21, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    Oh man oh man. I love Dexter! I am obsessed with him. My fiance and I just started Season 3 (yes, we’re late bloomers). I had a weekend marathon where I couldn’t take my eyes off the screen. I love mac-n-cheese, and this is the perfect time of year for it.

  2. kitchenmisfit December 21, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    We are on season two, almost to the Season Finale. IT’S SO GREAT!!! I don’t think my husband appreciates Dexter as much as I do. 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Asian Black Bean Burger « Tales From A Kitchen Misfit - February 8, 2011

    […] also told him that we would have to start eating better. The days of Stove Top Mac & Cheese were over (unless it’s Thursday night and I’ve already weighed in for the week!). I […]

Leave a Reply

