Secret Ingredient Fruit Smoothie

5 Dec

One day I was food shopping with my friend Rachel when she told me about how she makes smoothies with spinach. Now, I like spinach just as much as the next person (I was also a fan of Popeye and his love of spinach), but the thought of putting spinach in my fruit smoothie made me a little nervous. But I decided what the hell and bought all the ingredients to make a delicious smoothie.

Let’s fast forward another month or so when I actually MADE my first spinach smoothie. I decided that today would be the day for a healthy breakfast considering we are taking my mother-in-law out for her birthday at Cafe Polonia in South Boston today and the Polish aren’t exactly famous for their healthy cuisine.

Wonder Woman to the rescue!

I was a little timid and only put 1/4 cup of frozen, chopped spinach in my smoothie, but next time I will most likely double the amount. I was pleasantly surprised how tasty the smoothie turned out! I barely tasted the spinach, and luckily it turned out a pretty purple color, thanks to the blueberries and cherries. I even had Mr. Kitchen Misfit taste it without telling him there was spinach in it and he thought it was tasty as well! You might consider doubling the recipe for a fuller breakfast, or keeping the same amount. This would be a great drink to have before going out for a run, which I told myself I would do, then didn’t. Whoops.

Secret Ingredient Fruit Smoothie

  • 1/4 cup frozen, chopped spinach
  • 3oz fresh blueberries
  • 3.5oz Greek Yogurt
  • 1/2 cup apple cider
  • 1/2 cup frozen whole cherries

Combine in blender until pureed fully. Serve in tall glass.

Disclaimer: Consumption of this drink may or may not result in Wonder Woman like powers.

4 Responses to “Secret Ingredient Fruit Smoothie”

  1. A Boston Food Diary December 5, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    Yum! I’ve heard of this and keep meaning to try it but, well, Ive been a little lazy in my smoothie making ventures lately. Very impressed!

  2. Rachel Chernick December 27, 2010 at 6:48 pm #

    I was just catching up on your blog and saw this! I have a ton of new smoothie combos to share!

    My favorite right now is a cup of light unsweetened vanilla soy milk, a banana, 2 cups (yes, TWO whole cups) of fresh spinach, and a tablespoon of peanut butter. It is to die for!

    • kitchenmisfit December 27, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

      I will have to try that! Sounds delicious!

      • Rachel Chernick December 27, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

        Oooh, I do have to tell you though, I switched the fresh spinach! You REALLY can’t taste it at all, AND your smoothie is atomic green!

Leave a Reply

