Daring Baker’s: Crostata

28 Nov

Happy Post Thanksgiving everyone! I hope your weekend and holiday was fabulous. I spent the weekend at home with friends and family which means posting late for Daring Baker’s. Oh, and forgetting my camera and only having my point and shoot with me, so my apologies for the less than stellar photos.

The 2010 November Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Simona of briciole. She chose to challenge Daring Bakers’ to make pasta frolla for a crostata. She used her own experience as a source, as well as information from Pellegrino Artusi’s Science in the Kitchen and the Art of Eating Well.

This challenge sounded like a fun way for me to prepare something for the holidays without making just a boring pie. I was originally going to make an apple pie crumble so the fact that this month’s challenge was a crostata was perfect.

I really liked this dough and it tasted delicious. I would love to make a more traditional crostata the next time around because they just sound delicious.

I also got a chance to use this precious bottle:

I recently got to attend a food blogger event at Cambridge 1 in Fenway and we were given the opportunity to try this fabulous brand of hard cider. And let me tell you, their Solstice hard cider tastes EXACTLY like caramel apple pie. So when I found a bottle of this stuff at the local liquor store I snatched it up quickly.

Now I just need to figure out what to do with the rest of my leftovers!

 

Apple Crumble Crostata

 

For the Crostata:

  • 3/4 cup of powdered sugar
  • 1 and 3/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 stick cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
  • grated zest of half a lemon 
  • 1 large egg and 1 large egg yolk, lightly beaten in a small bowl

Whisk together sugar, flour and salt in a medium bowl. Cut the butter into the flour mixture until it resembles coarse crumbles (You can use a food processor for this, or use your hands if you want to get some aggression out). Make a well in the center of the mound and pour in the beaten eggs then add the lemon zest. Use a fork to start to incorporate the flour mixture into the eggs and then knead lightly until it forms a ball. Shape the ball into a flat disk and wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 2 hours (I did overnight). Once the dough has been properly chilled unwrap it from the plastic wrap but don’t remove it. Place on a floured surface with the plastic wrap on top of the dough. Using a rolling pin roll the dough to a thickness of about 1/8 of an inch. Put some muscle into it.

Now I didn’t have a tart pan, so I used a regular 9″ pie dish. Spray lightly with cooking spray and flip the dough onto the pie plate so the plastic wrap is still facing you. Using your fingers, press the dough into the pie dish. There will be excess dough on the top.

Since the crostata dough is a little shorter than traditional pies, I used a sharp knife to trace a line all the way around, cutting to just below the pie plate. Then take the remaining dough and roll into a pipe and add that to the sides of the crostata, to make the edges thicker. Then, using a fork, poke the bottom on the dough withe the fork to make some air bubbles in the dough.

Apple Filling

  • 2lbs granny smith apples, sliced into 1/8″ strips (do not remove the skin!)
  • 1 cup of your favorite hard cider
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon

In a heavy saute pan line the sliced applies around the pan and pour the sugar, cinnamon and apple cider over the apples. Cook on medium heat, covered, for about 10 minutes, or until the apples are soft. Turn them once or twice. Remove the cover and cook an additional 10 minutes, or until the liquid has evaporated, again, turning the apples gentlyto cook evely on both sides. Remove from pan and cook completely (Again, I did this the night before)

Crumble Topping

  • 4 tbsp butter, chopped
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon

Mix sugar, flour and cinnamon in a food processor. Slowly add the butter and pulse until coarse crumbles form.

Now it’s time to assemble your crostata!!!

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Carefully line the dough with the apple slices. Spread the crumble topping over the top. Bake for about 25 minutes, or until the top is crispy. Make sure to place the crostata on a baking pan in case and juices flow over.

Well there you have it! Delicious crostata! The dough was flaky and delicious and very sturdy (which I like). I can’t wait to make it again!

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Daring Baker’s: Crostata”

  1. Babygirl November 28, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

    The crust looks amazing on this

  2. Audax Artifex November 28, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Apple crumble crostata WOWOWOW that is so cool and I bet it was delicious and I love the bottle of hard cider it sounds too tasty.

    Great photo as well.

    Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

  3. frodolyra November 29, 2010 at 5:28 am #

    mmmm I love it

  4. Elizabeth November 29, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    Ooh, I think I’d love this. My issue with standard pie crust is, it’s not sweet! I know the filling is the sweet part, but I’m a sugar fiend. So the crostata dough definitely sounds like my kind of thing.

  5. simply.food December 6, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    Your crostata looks delicious and I love the apple crumble filling.

  6. Simona December 23, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

    What a nice choice of filling! I love apples, so I am sure I would have liked a slice of your crostata. I am glad you liked pasta frolla and you were happy with the result of your efforts. Nice idea the crumble on top.

Leave a Reply

