Daring Cook’s: Souffle Time

14 Nov

My first foray with foamy egg whites ended in disaster. So much disaster that I basically had to throw away a bunch of failed egg whites. So when I found out that this month’s Daring Cook’s challenge involved making a souffle let’s say I wasn’t excited. However, I was determined to not let it happen this time.

So let’s just say when I saw this:

I win this time egg whites

I may have pranced around the house yelling, “I DID IT! I DID IT!”

I decided to do a savory souffle instead of a sweet one and found a good reference for figuring out how to make a souffle from here: http://www.mahalo.com/how-to-make-souffle

Dave and Linda from Monkeyshines in the Kitchen chose Soufflés as our November 2010 Daring Cooks’ Challenge! Dave and Linda provided two of their own delicious recipes plus a sinfully decadent chocolate soufflé recipe adapted from Gordon Ramsay’s recipe found at the BBC Good Food website.

Ham & Cheddar Souffle

  • 1 cup ham, sliced
  • 1 cup cheddar, shredded
  • 3 tbsp chives, chopped
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 4 eggs, separated
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 tsp cream of tartar

First we’ll need to make the souffle base. Melt butter in a small saucepan and then add the flour. Stir constantly for a couple of minutes. Heat milk in a separate pan or put in microwave for 2 minutes. Add milk to flour/butter mixture. Bring sauce to a boil, then lower to a simmer and cook for a few more minutes, until thick.

In a separate bowl, beat the egg yolks together. Add a small amount of the flour mixture to the egg yolks, stirring constantly. Then pour the egg mixture back into the flour mixture. Add the ham/cheddar/chives into the sauce.

Using a stand mixer with the whisk attachment add the egg white and beat on medium high speed. Once small peaks start forming add the cream of tartar. Continue beating until stiff peaks form.

Slowly fold in the egg whites into the egg mixture until fully incorporated.

Preheat oven to 350. I used 4 mini souffle ramekins as well as a large muffin tin for the souffle. Spray and flour the ramekins/tin. Pour even amount of mixture into the tins, making sure not to overfill as you need to give some space for the souffle to rise. Bake until puffy and slightly browned, about 30 minutes.

The souffles will start deflating almost immediately, so if you planning on serving the souffles to guests, make sure to get it out of there ASAP.

I was really happy with the way this turned out. It made me more confident about dealing with foamed egg whites that I don’t think I’ll be scared to try out more recipes for stiff peaks. Lemon meringue anyone?

 

6 Responses to “Daring Cook’s: Souffle Time”

  1. Ruth H. November 14, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

    Congratulations on beating those egg whites! (Pun sort of intended…!) Your souffles look beautiful. I am all in for that lemon meringue!!!

  2. climbhighak November 14, 2010 at 10:01 pm #

    I like the pics of your souffle looking down on the neighborhood. Great job. I can completely relate to the feeling of accopmplishment after seeing my souffles rise.

    Side note. Those kitchen towels with the blue stripes are my favorite bar none.

  3. Miss Nirvana November 14, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    Great job on the challenge! I am glad you conquered egg whites. Your souffles look like they would make a great breakfast!

  4. Shaina November 15, 2010 at 11:00 am #

    Nice work! Now that you’re an egg white master, you should try my favorite meringue-related recipe: http://thepioneerwoman.com/tasty-kitchen/recipes/desserts/diner-style-peanut-butter-custard-pie/ So good!

  5. A Boston Food Diary December 5, 2010 at 11:13 pm #

    Your photos are absolutely beautiful!

    • kitchenmisfit December 6, 2010 at 7:36 am #

      Thanks! I wish Foodgawker and Tastespotting would agree with you! Hah!

Leave a Reply

