Orange Chicken

6 Nov

Before I knew how to cook properly my culinary expertise extended to Trader Joe’s Orange Chicken. Mr. Kitchen Misfit and I thought we were fancy. Real fancy. We loved that orange chicken from Trader Joe’s. We ate a lot of Orange Chicken back then….

Well, now I feel I have enough culinary prowess to take on making my very own orange chicken, from SCRATCH.

So I was delighted when I found this recipe, and not only was it Orange Chicken from SCRATCH, but it was actually not very bad for you! (Unlike the Trader Joe’s version I might add)

Orange Chicken

From Cordon Pink

Orange Sauce

  • 1/3 Cup Orange Juice
  • 1/2 Cup Rice Wine Vinegar
  • 1/2 Cup White Sugar
  • 2.5 Tbsp Soy Sauce
  • 1 Tbsp Orange Zest
  • 1/2 Tbsp Toasted Sesame Oil
  • 2 Tsp Corn Starch
  • 1 Tbsp Red Pepper flakes (more or less depending on your preference for heat)

Mix Orange Juice with corn starch until smooth. Add corn starch mixture and the rest of the ingredients to a small sauce pan over medium heat until mixture coats a spoon.

Chicken

  • 1lb skinless/boneless chicken breast cut into bite sized pieces
  • 4 tbsp flour
  • Salt  & Pepper to taste

Add flour, salt and pepper to a ziploc bag. Add chicken and mix until chicken is completely covered in flour mixture. Heat 1 tbsp vegetable oil to saute pan. Cook chicken until browned throughout, about 3-4 minutes per side. Add Orange mixture and coat chicken.

I like to serve mine with steamed broccoli and white rice. Sometimes I whip up a double batch of orange sauce if I was to coat both the chicken and the rice.

5 Responses to “Orange Chicken”

  1. Teri November 7, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    Made it! It was FABULOUS!!!! Thanks Mandah:)

  2. Elizabeth November 11, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

    Hi there,

    I’d like to send you info about a food blogger event. Would shoot me an email with your contact info?
    FreeFoodBOS@gmail.com

  3. Erin November 16, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    I made this last night for dinner and it was SOOOO yummy! Thanks 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Year in the Making & A Giveaway! « Tales From A Kitchen Misfit - June 17, 2011

    […] was one of those girls that used to be too lazy to take some frozen orange chicken out and make it. Now I make it from scratch. I’m hoping in my next year of blogging I can do more experimenting to create more of my own […]

Leave a Reply

